Finally…a project done! A vintage slide chandelier….

I’m a pinterest addict, as I’ve mentioned before.  As a result I have amassed a collection of recipes, project ideas, photos and other random stuff so big that I can’t begin to understand how I might tackle everything I’d like to get my hands into.  Amazingly enough we finally managed to get some things as close to put together as we can for right now freeing up a little time for a project.  It’s been so long and the list is huge so, where to start?  On the bare bulb that’s been hanging in our utility room for the last 6 months.

One of my early pins was of a vintage slide curtain that someone had made for a back door window.  This was the original direction I was going to take with the collection of old slides I uncovered in my crawlspace.  Along the way, though, we came across an awesome little lampshade, from Pretty Smart Stuff, and the paper lampshade that was on our current pendant fixture ripped beyond repair.  A new idea was in order.

All in all it came together in about 2 hours.  It’s set on a wire frame that fits around the fixture (thanks, baby) and is 7″ in diameter.

I used 66 slides and a whole bunch of 8mm jump rings.  The process itself is extremely basic.

I started with strips of slides, varying in length from 3 slides to 8.  I lined each row up to mark for holes and punched the tops and bottoms with a rectangle hole punch.  Then I simply connected them with the jump rings.

If you’re not familiar with jump rings they’re easy to use.  I like mine flexible enough to be able to bend with my fingers and pliers.  Take a pair of flat-face needle nose pliers and locate the split in your jump ring.  Grasp one side of the ring in the pliers and gently bend the other side with your fingers.  Place the slides on the ring and then bend it back together.  I added jump rings to anchor both the top slides of all my strips and the bottom slides of each.  The end result?

A lot better than the bare bulb, that’s for sure.  I still want to add some additional jump rings to the horizontal in the middle just to help keep things a little more connected.  That’ll wait for another day, though, because right now?  My forearms can’t take any more hole punching.

Leave a Reply

