What to Expect Next

Her interests don’t define a fangirl.  A fangirl is defined by her attitude.  She is obsessive and passionate and fiercely loyal.  Do you find this a lot when something Joss Whedon created is involved?  Sure.  But a fangirl can be someone who has never seen Buffy the Vampire Slayer – never been exposed to what is widely recognized as “geek culture”.  This blog is here for all the facets of my fangirl-ness, geeky or nerdy or downright domestic.  I’ve discovered that my interests resemble the “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon”.  One night a fellow fangirl and I were searching online for pictures of the prom episode of Queer as Folk.  Low and behold, we came across a post on a random message board comparing the QAF prom episode to the Buffy prom episode.  Worlds were colliding – images of Andrew and Emmitt danced through our heads together!  This opened so many doors. 

I think the inherent nature of a fangirl or fanboy draws us all to similar things.  I hope that through sharing my everday experiences I can a) provide myself an outlet and b)expose more fangirls (and fanboys) to things they never knew about before or weren’t sure if they’d like c) learn about things that I’ve never seen from other people.

 If you decide to come along for the ride, thanks and enjoy and give me your opinions.  I’d love to hear from you. 

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What to Expect Next

  1. Uncle Adam says:

    Check out issue 2 of the new monthly magazine “Geek” to get a look at an interview with Kristin Bell (Veronica Mars) and how she identifies with being a fangirl. It’s sweeping the nation!!!

Leave a Reply

