Oh my Malachi…

Yes, it’s been a minute (again) and yes, I still can’t believe that it’s this hard for me to find 10 minutes on a regular basis to post some stuff.

I think I’m coming out of my Veronica Mars mourning period, with the help from:

a)  Charlaine Harris and the Southern Vampire Novels.  I found these books last summer from an ad in Entertainment Weekly (what a godsend EW has been) and ate them up.  I made it through every book by September.  Over the last how ever many months there have now been two books that I found that I haven’t read yet (the last being released in May).  Now I’m addicted to reading again.

b)  So You Think You Can Dance.  I admit it, this is my guiltiest pleasure.  I love it.  And so does Dylan (but don’t tell his friends, it might blow his cool).

c)  Has anyone noticed that Hex is back on BBC?

Yeah – Hex is fantastic.  I know that we in the states got it late and it’s destined to only be two seasons but its GOOD.  It took a couple of episodes last year to really get into it but once it got going it’s been a great series.  I’m sure any Buffy fan was hard-pressed not to watch at least one episode after the ads ran in Entertainment Weekly.  She was blonde, she was a chosen one and she was supposed to save the world.  Sound familiar?

I thought it may be a rip-off but soon realized what a different story it was going to be.  The characters really grabbed hold and, because it was on BBC, it was a lot racier than Buffy ever was (I was never a big fan of the Spuffy sex scenes – granted the idea was great but the execution? Not always on the mark).

Now all of a sudden – unholy hotness!  (If you haven’t watched, the basics are simple:  fallen angels seduce young girls.  One of these girls is prophesized to bear the mesiah of the fallen angels – an antichrist of sorts.  Girl can’t contain herself, sleeps with the fallen angel, the antichrist comes to be and is growing at an exponential rate.  Meanwhile, her lesbian best-friend, who had always been in love with her, was a sacrifice in the FIRST episode and has since been everyone’s guardian ghost.  Oh yeah, and the last annointed one who is supposed to kill the antichrist is there and *SPOILERS DELETED* destined to kill the antichrist) – Malachi.  Who reached maturity after only a handful of episodes.

Malachi

Did I mention he was hot?  Just take it in for a second and then tune in to watch.  Malachi aside – you won’t be disappointed.  It took exactly 5 minutes for me to get completely sucked in again.  Can’t wait till the new episode this week.  I can, however, wait until what I’m afraid will be another series finale I’ll have to deal with in a couple of months.  Since we already know it was cancelled during its initial British run we know there’s no hope beyond Season 2.  (I’d still argue that it was worth the trip.)

As the main TV season has ended, I think everything ended up ok.  Sure, Veronica Mars should still be on and the world would not be any worse off without “Farmer Needs a Wife” or whatever other crap the CW has decided to spew on there dim audience.  But the series finale, albeit “unexpected”, felt somewhat like a series finale and at least gave me enough closure to move on.  At the same time, Gilmore Girls ended exactly as it should have.  I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

The other season finales were great.  Bones – always good (even if it got just a little cheesy in the finale this year).  And Heroes?  What more could you ask for?!  It was ridiculously fun.

As of right now, I’m just looking forward to taking Dylan (hopefully, depending on the ratings) to see the new Fantastic Four movie (for his sake, not mine, just because he’s dying to see a super-hero movie in the theater and I think this one will be cheesy enough) and Transformers (because I managed to convince him that he’s really excited to see it). 

Till next time, which I hope will come sooner than July.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

