Lest we forget…

fangirl, n.
1. (derogatory) a female fan, obsessed with something (or someone) to a frightening or sickening degree. Often considered ditzy, annoying and shallow.
2. (playful, good-natured) less extreme, a female fan who can laugh at their own passion for their particular interest (or even obsession).

What does it mean?  Well, first of all I consider myself a type 2 fangirl by this definition.  By no means do I consider myself ditzy or shallow, nor am I 12 years old (although some may argue that when I get in moods like this – and by the way, who says fangirls have to be in their teens).  Second of all, I’m officially obsessed with all things Twilight.

Just remember, by definition I have the right  obligation to be obsessive (or I wouldn’t be a very good fangirl, now, would I?) .  And man do I love these books!  I really can’t remember the last thing I was this crazy for – probably Veronica Mars.   It brings me back to the earlier seasons of Buffy, particularly 2 and 3.  The combined intensity and naivity of the feelings and relationship of the main characters Bella and Edward remind of early Buffy/Angel.

 Stephenie Meyer does everything right with these books.  After finishing Twilight I couldn’t get enough of Edward and Bella and the rest of the peripheral characters.  When I started New Moon I was on cloud nine, then the rug was ripped out from under me, at the beginning of the book no less, and I cried…hard….for about 100 pages.  I haven’t been that upset since the quintessential Buffy/Angel crossover episode (I Will Remember You).  If you were ever a Buffy fan you know the pain I’m talking about.  I’m still reeling today.  Every spare moment I’m trying to sneak in a couple more pages.

Then I went to Stephanie Meyer’s website, as any good fangirl would, looking for more.  You know, coming from fandom the likes of Buffy and Veronica it’s hard for me to get used to the fandom that surrounds a book.  The hardest part is the lack of STUFF – no pictures, no videos, etc.  The author has some great stuff, mind you, playlists and outtakes and other little things.  Fun stuff – I can’t wait to dig through it more and come up with my own.

Now, I know most people will still look at this and say, “But these are young adult books”.  Yeah, yeah, whatever.  There are two things that make them young adult:  1) the main characters are set in high school and 2) the romance is innocent.  Neither of these things make them unappealing for adults, just safe for tweens, too.  Buffy was similar in the beginning, too, remember.  (According to Stephenie on her site there was an unreleased sequel to Twilight that she wrote before she realized who her audience was going to be.  It couldn’t be released because it was decidedly NOT young adult.  I’d love to get my hands on that one.)  The characters are growing up and the series is continuing so hopefully they will begin to push the young adult limits.  I’m in for the long haul.  This one is good. 

Hopefully I can get my fangirl-butt in gear and keep the blog updated now with all the different things that I’m falling in love with.  There’s so much I’d like to do with this but alas, I’d rather spend the time reading it or watching it than talking about reading or watching it.  It’s an interesting balancing act, especially considering the word “moderation” is not in my vocabulary…

Oh well, go pick up Twilight, like, now!  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

