1,200+ pages in 9 days and now another week to recover…

* *WARNING:  This post contains spoiler for the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer, most specifically the last book Eclipse.  If you have any intention to read them PLEASE don’t read this.  It would suck if it was spoiled to this extent.**

 …from the latest installment in the Twilight series – Eclipse.  I started Twilight last Monday, I finished New Moon this past Saturday and now it’s Thursday and I was up until 1:30AM to finish Eclipse.  I reached a point of now return in the book where I was so hurt and upset that I decided I could not put off the ending another day and have to go through it all again.

I am really distraught over the ending of Eclipse.  I’ve been visiting the message boards and getting even more distraught because no one else seems to be on my side.

At the beginning of New Moon I was crying over Edward leaving Bella.  By the end of Eclipse I was crying WORSE over Bella leaving Jacob.  And now I’m just really confused by the direction the story took and how things can move forward from here.  Stephanie Meyer introduced Jacob so strongly and now Bella’s going to marry Edward and I’m stuck with a wrenching pain in my chest every time I think about it.  I’m hoping that me being this upset about it is just a product of the whole situation and stress in my life right now.  I’m strung out over this book like I was when Justin left Brian in the last episode of Queer as Folk and like I was after the last episodes of Buffy and Angel.  And why?  So that the stupid girl will go and run off with the nasty vampire.

After this installment of the series I really hate Edward and Bella – and that’s supposed to be the center of the series.  I’m not sure how I’m going to enjoy the next book if that is really what’s supposed to happen next.  And I’m a complete minority when it comes to the people who have been reading these books.

Why did she have to make everything with Jacob so heart-wrenching?  If it was going to come down to Edward in the end it would have been much easier for me if she hadn’t shared the vision Bella had of her and Jacob and their kids when they kissed.  To know that Bella and Jacob SHOULD have been together in the end, were it not for some stupid vampires – that’s what’s stuck in my head and what keeps pulling me back down.

The worst part is that I saw it coming throughout the whole book.  There were times where I could hardly bring myself to keep reading because I really felt like Jacob was doomed.  It made the whole experience somewhat uncomfortable and not nearly as enthralling as the others.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book and I’m sure I will be right there when the next one comes out and maybe someday I’ll read this one again.  I just wish everything could go back to the way it was in the first two books.

This whole marriage thing?  Ugh!  That must be the mormon garbage talking.  The whole thing was making me sick.  I got really frustrated with the story.  After reading the whole thing I just simply cannot understand how you can justify Bella’s character choosing Edward over Jacob.  I really doesn’t make any sense to me and I hate to say that I feel like a lot of that has to do with it being a young adult book.  It just started to feel to unrealistic in this one and I was starting to feel like the story was somewhat wasted because of the outcome.  She really didn’t need to jam here point about Jacob home so hard.  While so many people find the character of Jacob to be a nuisance and annoying I really took to it and now I’m feeling like I hate the rest of the story because it just doesn’t make any sense.

Oh well, now that it’s off my chest (and my family and friends are probably thinking I need to be committed) I’m starting to feel a little better.  If I can keep myself occupied I hopefully won’t keep replaying the scenes in my head.  Yep, I feel silly right now for taking it so hard.  Whatever – I guess that just goes to show how strong the characters in these stories are.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 1,200+ pages in 9 days and now another week to recover…

  1. Sherry says:

    I just wanted to let you know that you are not alone! I was so heart broken at the end of Eclipse. Jacob is so sweet and loves Bella so much that it just breaks my heart that she didn’t choose him. The whole marriage thing totally sucks too.

  2. kissthelibrarian says:

    Thanks for the support! I’ve calmed down on the whole thing a little by now, but I still have my moments. I mostly wish it hadn’t played out the way it did – with Edward being a jerk and making Jacob overhear it and with Bella having the perfect life vision and all. Can’t wait to see what happens next, though!

  3. Mellifluence says:

    My sentiments… well, not exactly, but getting pretty close. ^_^

    I must say that I DO love the canon pairing, but after “Twilight”… how can you not? ^^ But, like you, I’m not quite as obsessed over Edward as most fans, including another friend-and-fellow-Meyer-addict I know are… *sigh*

    Anyways, the Jacob in “New Moon” was a fantastic character. Like a puppy, you know? An all-round sweet, adorable, lovable guy… that had my sympathies (empathies even) from Day One, ‘coz it was so obvious that his fate as the third wheel was already written and inevitable. I mean, no matter how much he loves Bella, and no matter how “kindred” they may be… well hadn’t it already been established from “Twilight” that this was very much a Bella&Edward story? And nothing would change THAT fact.

    Ah, unrequited love. Gets me EVERY single time. >__< Half the time I was, like, you gotta be kidding me… Jacob is actually doing/saying that??? …I must say, distinctly reminds me of watching “LOTR: The Two Towers” (which I am hardcore fan of, all qualms aside) but being completely pole-axed at movie!Faramir, who, by his actions, did not match up at all to the wise, thoughtful, intelligent man the books had suggested he SHOULD, in fact, be.

    Ugh.

    There you go — that was the product of my daily rant. ^_^

    …But there is something else I can never understand, that you also happened to mention…

    You know, with the vision of Bella&Jacob’s future??? Well, even though Meyer quite obviously suggests there that THAT should have been Bella’s fate had she not have gotten tangled up with vampires… then why does the author also confirm on her site that Jacob hadn’t actually “imprinted” Bella?

    So then, if he never “imprinted” her (and that happens on point of instant contact, doesn’t it??), no matter how much he loves her, wouldn’t their story end up like Sam and Leah’s at the end of the day, when Jacob eventually meets-and-imprints another girl that “fate” forces him to love???

    …I am SO confused. o.O

  4. kissthelibrarian says:

    Thanks for the comments, Mellifluence. I’ve been wrapped up in all sorts of stuff and haven’t had a chance to respond.

    Here’s my take on the vision vs. the imprinting. As I read the passage about the vision of their future and interpreted Jacob’s comments on it later I took it to mean that if vampires never existed, then the werewolves never would have existed and that Jacob and Bella’s natural paths would have led to them being together and happy (sniff, sniff).

    But, since the vampires came way back when and the werewolves of the tribe first appeared that made their fates diverge. So, my original statement in this post was a little misleading – I don’t think it was specifically Edward but just the whole supernatural process of vampire vs. werewolf that made the whole thing go awry.

    And yes, the imprinting is supposed to occur the first time the werewolf sees the person AFTER they phase for the first time. Stephanie Meyer has explained that since Jacob came to Bella’s house right after he phased for the first time and told her he couldn’t talk to her anymore that he didn’t imprint with her. He wouldn’t have been able to do that, and would have instead been able to tell her everything. Knowing that, I’m better with Bella and Jacob not being together because I would hate to see them meet the same fate as Sam and Leah. But – they do mention that imprinting does not ALWAYS occur.

    Oh well – I was talking about it with a friend the other day and said that basically, I just don’t want to lose Jacob in the story. I don’t want him to disappear. If Edward and Bella and Jacob and someone else are all happy I’m cool with that.

    Whew – I’ve been anxious to get that out for a while now. Thanks again!

  5. kaye says:

    Hi, I completely respect your views, but it is not mormon garbage. Marriage is a beautiful thing. It is really iconic that a mormon temple marriage last for all time and eternity. Pretty much the whole “till death do you part” is just a temporary marriage.
    For Edward and Bella, that is what they’re marriage would be, since neither of them will die (I hope not). You know why Edward wants to get married, and you know the reason that Bella doesn’t want to get married. That’s what makes it all the more grand. Just the fact that Bella is somewhat willing to be married, is just romantic.

  6. kissthelibrarian says:

    Thanks for the feedback, Kaye. I appreciate your opinion and admit that this was a knee jerk reaction. I have my own opinions on marriage which probably taint my view of Edward’s request. In the context of the book, for me, it started to make the whole thing feel somewhat naive and idealistic. I need to continue to put myself back in YA fiction mode to appreciate it – it just doesn’t feel realistic sometimes.

    And this is me complaining about the romance in a book about vampires and werewolves not being “realistic”? HA! Thanks, again. I always enjoy hearing different perspectives from people.

  7. poetam says:

    Well, I am really impressed with the way the love triangle played out but my heart aches for Jacob… He’s a good guy and deserves to be happy. We don’t want him to lose the Jacob Blackness we all love and anguish with.

    But its understandable that Edward would want to get married first, that comes back to the era when he was human. Its interesting it reminds me of so many other stories where the guy isn’t wholly from the current era. Seems Meyer did some research on a lot of the book and thats what makes it stand up better than another sci fi romance book would.

  8. Amanda says:

    I honestly have become so confused by my feelings over Jacob with the last two books in this series.

    I’m not going to lie to you– after reading Twlight, I already had New Moon… and I became so disgusted at the idea that Edward wasn’t going to be in it that I never finished it.

    When Eclipse came out… I’m like… alright, gotta give this another chance. And so I read it… all… in one night. And I’m suddenly thinking: Hey, Jacob. I like him.

    A Lot….

    Now we come to Eclipse– and I’m suddenly torn between Edward and Jacob. *small look* Did Stephenie Meyer mean to torture us all with this?

  9. ANyC says:

    I’m with you… Jacob was developed just a little too much for him to be “thrown away” at the end. BTW did Jacob imprint Bella? I was sure he was going to say something about that? My hope is that a character cooler than Bella will emerge, and she will make Jacob just as happy… I don’t know if you can pull that off in one book though? We’ll just have to see… Fall 2008 is a long time to wait 🙂 I’m hoping for a more mature Bella to come out in the 4th, maybe being a vampire is the only thing that can help her immature whiny character 🙂

    What is the underlying theme? good vs evil? fantasy vs. reality? or just life choices…?
    Thanks for venting… I was upset too…

  10. kissthelibrarian says:

    I had to get away from the books for a while. A friend of mine has been reading them since I ran out and bought a copy of Twilight to loan her (the day after I finished it). This was 3 months ago and she has since admitted to not even reading the newspaper anymore and instead just picking up one of the books and reading a few pages here and there.

    I couldn’t even consider doing that for a while because my reaction to them was just too intense and I knew if I was going to read them again I would have to do it from start to finish all over again. I’m 3/4 of the way through Twilight now and thoroughly enjoying going over it again but my stomach sinks every time I think about getting back to New Moon and Eclipse only because I know the torture that’s waiting and I still don’t know if I can do that again.

    I’ve heard a lot of authors, I think Stephenie Meyer including, talk about the lives of the books they write and how somewhere after the first pages go down they suddenly have their own intentions for where they wind up. I hope Stephenie didn’t intend to torture us all – and I hope that just wasn’t simply the book’s intent either. We’re bound to be going somewhere and I’m anxious now to find out where that is.

    As far as the imprint, alas she has confirmed that that was not the case between Jacob and Bella. I’m really hoping for a kick-ass chick for Jacob. And I’m all about Bella maturing a bit. As far as a theme goes? That’s a tough one. I’ve been so involved in the details of the charaters and emotions that I didn’t stop to consider any symbolism or greater theme to the whole thing. I guess I would lean towards life and love because I just can’t think of anything else that fits. I think everyone can relate to the early feelings of love in any relationship and how those evolve and change and sometimes get redirected, unrequited, etc. I think that’s why the book has such a strong hold on so many people.

    I love the dialogue – thanks for your comments! What do you think as far as a theme goes?

  11. Brandi says:

    I am sooooo glad to have stumbled across your twilight commentary here. i just finished eclipse and after sifting a ton of bella/edward stuff i finally found someone who put everything thing i was thinking into words! its not that i hate the idea of bella/edward but i was afraid i was the only one who felt that way about bella and jacob. their relationship is the one that appeals to me more and since i am currently the only person in my circle to have read these i had no one to vent to or get opinions from. Forgive me for making this so long but i just have to let it out!

    First of all i totally agree with this statement:

    “I really doesn’t make any sense to me and I hate to say that I feel like a lot of that has to do with it being a young adult book. It just started to feel to unrealistic in this one…”

    Ok so I know that if I had read this book when I was 16 I totally would been team B/E completely. When I was in love with the idea of love and Edward would have seemed utterly perfect and Jacob would have seemed annoying.
    But now at 23 (a little bit more jaded) it seems that Edward is just a little too perfect and in ways kind of controlling. Its repeated more than once in the books how he is a drug for Bella. And her dependency on him seems really unhealthy to me. I understand the phrase “can’t live without you” but she takes that too extremes. She completely loses herself to him.

    Bella’s submissive-ness (i dont know if thats a word or not but you get what i mean) drives me crazy. There are numerous times when she is frustrated or just plain pissed with Edward but when she see’s him she just completely lets it slide and does things his way EVERY SINGLE TIME.
    But with Jacob she always fights back, letting him know whats on her mind. She doesn’t put up with his bull. Even in Twilight I loved the J/B scenes because it showed a Bella with a PERSONALITY. Something I think she lacks with Edward. I swear every scene with those two its him trying to convince her not to do something or to do it his way. The fact that J and B’s relationship ISNT perfect that its complicated with ups and downs makes it far more realistic and deeper than the J/E one.

    I really hope that she doesnt marry or turn into a vampire too soon in the next book. i would really like to see bella develop a stronger sense of self and stand on her own without depending so heavily on her romantic relationships before taking the next step.

    I know there is more i had to say but this is long enough as it is. Thanks for letting me vent!

  12. Brandi says:

    EDIT:
    “The fact that J and B’s relationship ISNT perfect that its complicated with ups and downs makes it far more realistic and deeper than the *J/E* one.”

    meant to write:
    *B/E *

  13. kissthelibrarian says:

    Thanks for venting! It’s always nice to know I’m not alone anymore! I really see your point about the difference in Bella when she’s with Edward and Jacob. I knew there was something but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. The way you talk about her having personality, though, really puts it into words. She’s too much like a lost puppy with Edward. And I really agree with the fact that she needs to stand on her own a bit. I would hope that Stephenie Meyer feels some sort of responsibility to her younger readers to let that happen. I guess a lot of it will be dependent on what her own life experiences have been 0 which may obviously be different than our own.

  14. liv says:

    I agree with every single thing each of you had to say. I love reading about the parts between jake and bella, they have so much more substance to them then B/E conversations about “don’t do that!!” or “do this” yaddah yaddah yaddah.
    I think that all of us Jacob Lovers think alike, I really do!!
    Here’s a suggestion:
    Edward with Jessica
    Bella with Mike
    and me with Jacob!!!!
    Whooo lol. that would be really really funny if stephenie meyer did that!!

  15. Simply Obsessed says:

    Jacob Black..
    He is the best character I’ve ever found in a story. I am irrevocably in love with him.My boyfriend is threatening to steal the books and burn them while I’m sleeping if I don’t stop talking about them. XD I can NOT believe that Bella chose Edward. Sure its what most of those girls out there reading wanted. Cause everyone always goes for the vampire, right? And it always ends that way. The boyfriend over the best friend. But Jacob is so sweet. I felt so bad for him in the end. I cried my eyes out when I first read of him staying in his wolf form and running off. And its even more terrible I suppose for me, because of the situation I’m in at the moment. Sure, none of them are vampires or werewolves.. but the people in my life can really relate to the characters. My best friend would happen to be almost exactly like Jacob, down to the core. My boyfriend is just like Edward. So I suppose its hard for me to read them. knowing that in the end, I’ll choose the Edward character over the Jacob one. Even though I wish deep down I could somehow have them both, yet without hurting them. I feel for you Bella, its hard.

  16. Maria says:

    I have been in a few of controlling, obsessive sort of relationships before. And I dunno what’s wrong with Bella, but it feels like you’re being suffocated. I know Edward gave her freedom (somewhat) and at first I really supported BxE. But after reading New Moon and seeing how Jacob could always make Bella smile and feel better, it just opened my eyes. Those two were so natural and it was like they were meant to be.

    Also, Edward just was too perfect. It didn’t make any sense to me, and eventually it would get annoying to have someone be perfect all the time. Its lf you’ve ever had excessive amounts of chocolate mousse cake, you’ll know what I mean. The sweetness and richness becomes overwhelming and you feel like you’re gonna be sick. The conflicts in Bella/Jacob was more refreshing and made it more like a real relationship.

    Bella said she could see her future with Jacob, and that said she wanted it. But with Edward, nothing was certain. Her future was an enigma.

  17. Gina says:

    I am totally relieved there are people who love Jacob as much as I do. I think the fact that Jacob was the only one to bring out Bella from her numbness is a huge thing. Something about the way S.M. describes their relationship makes it more genuine and real. It was very painful to end eclipse and I felt like I was hurting with Jake too. I know this is a series for vampire love but I can’t help wishing Bella had been at least more torn in her decision. I think most of the time she took him for granted because of the nature on their relationship. Everytime one of them got mad and apart they would find a way back. Instead of Edward whom she was afraid could leave her at any time.

  18. T Y says:

    I know what you mean! I’m heartbroken for Jacob! He’s too much of a complex character to get the short end of the stick.

  19. Chelsea says:

    I know, I know.
    Actually, I just finished reading Eclipse right now.
    And, I’m crying my eyes out.
    I don’t know, I just can’t help but feel so sorry and so heartbroken for Jacob.
    I mean, he’s such a great, sweet, loving guy, you know. He doesn’t deserve to get hurt like that. Don’t kill me for this, as to most of the Twilight fans usually take Edward’s side, but I sometimes hoped that Bella chose Jacob.
    Of course I love Edward and all, but with Jacob, Bella is just more natural. More human. And she knows she loves him. I just can’t take the agony Jake felt at the end. Stephenie Meyer clarified that Jake did NOT imprint on Bella. Yeah. He didn’t. I just hoped that Bella was more grown-up while making her decision. I understand that she cannot live with Edward. Of course.
    But she should’ve thought about it more. She should have looked at all the points, you know. I cried most when they (J and B) were talking about settling things between them–you know that scene where Bella visits Jake after he got hurt? Wow, that really did it. Stephenie really made us feel the pain of Jake. She just over-detailed everything, you know? And that’s what makes it more painful for us.
    But after everything, I respect Bella’s decision. But we don’t know yet, what about Book Four? Everyone can change their minds, after all. What if Bella did?
    Jake said he would be waiting on the wings after all. She could still have the other option.
    So, let’s just see what happens next, yeah?
    I don’t see why Stephenie would let Jacob be gone forever. She developed his character so well, to be loved. Jake SHOULDN’T be gone forever, right?
    Stephenie knows it would break our hearts if he did.

    I’m so glad I read your blog. Really! 🙂
    Because I’ve been to forums and boards and everything and absolutely NO ONE takes my side. I thought I was the only Jacob-Bella fan who lived. I’m so glad that there’re other Jacob Black fans out there (although we all love Edward, too)! 😀

  20. mjamiesonn says:

    Completely agree with you! I play for Team Jacob =]

  21. cantatedomino says:

    It’s like Jacob told Bella. Edward is like a drug to her, but he would have been healthy, like fresh air and sunshine.

    I just read the the first three books this week. One book a day. And the end of Eclipse was heartwrenching. I had become so involved in the story, I don’t know what to do with myself until August!

    but Jacob….I can’t stand it! He HAS to come back. He can’t run away and be a wolf forever like his Greay Great (however many greats) grandfather did!

    I wanted so badly for her to choose Jacob, though I didn’t see how that could happen. I think if she left Edward, the majority of fans would murder Stephenie! thats the sad part, we jacob lovers are minority….

    I’m just glad I’m not alone in this either!

  22. Antonia says:

    I just don’t kno where to start

    I just read all three books within the last week and i just cant imagine why us jacob lovers are a minority. it seems impossible to find him annoying. it seems impossible that ppl would choose edward over him! mayb it has something to do with age… but i dunno. im 21 and the way eclipse ended was just so heartbreaking and a little unbelievable to me.

    i ALMOST hate bella altogether. her love for edward is sickening at best. i used to b a hardcore vampire lover as a kid, but this book has completely turned me around. i cant stand them anymore. by the end of eclipse, i longed for the parts where edward would just go away and some real characters with real problems would emerge.

    I ALMOST hate S.M. for even creating a character as loveable as jacob just to throw in to the wolves at the end (no pun intended). i really hurt with him. i want him to be happy soo badly. i almost dont even care about bella ne more. how interesting could a book about two cold, lifeless, perfect, soooo in love with eachother they would kill themselves if they lost one another be? I wish S.M. would continue on the path that she finished eclipse with, and write a whole book from jacobs pov.

    i dunno. mayb im over reacting too, since i just finished the book last nite, but i really dont think i am. im soooo tired of edward it makes me not want to read the next book. of course i will anyway, but still. AND the getting married thing IS simply ridiculous. when i read that, i rolled my eyes so hard it hurt. come to think of it, i rolled my eyes through most of the BxE parts of the last book. how much suger will she add to their love story before ppl start to realize that it TOO sweet. i mean, come on! lol

    It does seem like S.M. is torturing us for no reason. y did she have to make jacob so much more likable than edward? UGHH! ok.. i feel a little better now that i’ve got that off my chest. i know most ppl dont feel as strongly as i do about this, but im glad to see that jacob lovers do exist ; ) i hope that he gets his happy ending too

  23. karen says:

    Jacob has not been imprinted yet he is not meant for Bella.

  24. Selina says:

    Dude! I TOTALLY agree with you! I know this is an old post but I finished Eclipse yesterday and I feel exactly the same way you do!! You put my feelings on a page! Which boards do you go to? I’ll go and support you there! I know it’s insane, of course Bella and Edward will be together, but yeah, again I just totally agree with what you said, it doesn’t seem realistic to me that she’d choose Edward over Jacob, and it just doesn’t sit right with me! It makes me feel uncomfortable, the way Bella is so dependent on Edward and the nature of their relationship – it’s based on this force, whatever, that brings them together, but he’s so horrible and overprotective and doesn’t get her at all, and she’s just… so not ready to become a vampire. You can FEEL that she doesn’t want to be a vampire, too, and that just bothers me! She isn’t sure, and she’s trying to convince herself that this is what she wants when it’s not! And with Jacob, it’s so amazing and passionate and they are, as she said, soul mates… and while she could never be with Jacob and forget Edward, I don’t believe the opposite is possible, either. She’ll always miss Jacob, she’ll always love him, and I don’t understand why Stephanie Meyer made such a point to emphasise this, what’s the point if she’s going to end up with Edward?? Why not make that seem like the unequivocally right choice instead of doing this, messing up the story? I want Bella to choose Jacob, desperately, because it feels like the right decision, and that annoys me, because it means I won’t be able to enjoy Breaking Dawn very much.

    Well… hopefully I’ll be able to dig up a few Bella/Jacob fanfics somewhere. We can’t be all alone in this opinion! :/

    Feel free to drop by my LJ and send me a pm or something, I’d love to rant some more about this with you! 😀

    Ps I found this randomly via Google, weird huh?

  25. Shannon says:

    I am so glad I’m not alone in this. Six months ago a friend of mine discovered Twilight, and after reading it immediately convinced me and seven of our other friends to read the series. And after everyone finished, I remain the only one with Bella and Jacob on the brain. The idea of Edward and Bella getting married or even being together horrifies me. As my friend put it, “Edward and Bella are my fairytale. They ARE true love.” But the thing that makes her love the pair makes me loathe them. They are TOO perfect. I always draw the parallel with Tale of Two Cities: I was the only one to sympathize with Sidney over Charles because Charles is too unrealistically flawless. The same goes for E and J; Jacob is deep and real and varied. He is utterly imperfect, and therefore perfect for Bella. I cried so much reading Eclipse. My heart breaks for him every time.

    Jacob at one point says that E and B’s relationship is a controlling teenage relationship. That’s an understatement: Bella is Edward’s slave, and it’s not right.

    Thanks for listening and agreeing ;]

    Shannon

  26. mary says:

    AWW,
    I also agree with all youse. i mean i know Edward is like VERY good looking but i sort of fell in love with Jacob more than with Edward.
    I mean Edwards cold and Jacobs HOT…literally.
    I do feel bad for jacob.
    But i have 2 say, im a young adult, if had 2 choose out of Edward and Jacob, it would without hesitation be…Jacob
    Thanx 4 listening
    mary

  27. heather says:

    As many have mentioned before – I know this is an old post, but I didn’t read the books until recently (much older than most fans!) and couldn’t find many people supporting the B/J relationship. *sigh*

    I have to say – I enjoy certain aspects of the Bella/Edward relationship and I remember the first love feeling of not being able to breathe without that person… At the end of Twilight I was all about watching them grow in their love. When I started New Moon, however, I was quickly heartbroken by E’s departure. Stupid, shiny volvo owner! lol… It didn’t take long for me to warm up to Jacob, though, and by the end of Eclipse I was literally crying for his pain.

    I agree with so many of you about Bella’s relationship with Jacob being more realistic and believable. I don’t doubt that Edward loves Bella – it’s in his tenderness and concern, etc, etc – but he really is kind of controlling. Even though his self-control is extremely important to her survival, he doesn’t seem to show much passionate emotion and I think that’s one of the reasons I loved Jake so much. Not only did he take care of Bella and protect her, he allowed her to take risks and actually live. Also – did anyone else notice that Edward CONSTANTLY has to ask her what she’s thinking and how she’s feeling… while Jake is so in tune to her needs and emotions that a lot of times he just knows? (Ex. In the car w/Mike on the way to the movies when he says that Bella doesn’t like music…)

    *sigh*

    Sometimes Bella really gets on my nerves (don’t really think she’s a good role model for YA girls since she is SO dependent on Edward and is willing to give up ties to everything for hiim), but I wanted her to end up happy. lol! And since I also DO like Edward, I would like for him to be happy… but I hate to think that SM will randomly wrap up Jake’s story line just to tie up loose ends.

    He deserves better than that…

    He should be with me… lol! : )

  28. Britt says:

    Wow your reaction to Eclipse was pretty much exactly the same as mine was! I was absolutely devestated. I read the last 10 or so chapters all in one night and I was on such a high when Bella and Jacob kissed (literally squealing and giggling and jumping around my bedroom like a twelve year old) and she realised that she was in love with him, then it all came crashing down when she left him. I cried for at least half an hour afterwards!

  29. Katie says:

    I’m totally on your side.
    Bella should of been with Jacob, not Edward.
    Jaco is nice, loyal, warm, and heaps of great other things. I don’t see why everyone likes Edward for? Edward treats Bella badly and he says its for her own good and hes just trying to keepp her safe. But Jacob has always been there for Bella and hasnt left like Edward did. I think Bella and Jacob should of gotten together in New Moon just before Edward called at the endish where they were about to kiss. I think they should of kissed and forgotten about Edward and he could of died and the cullens could go back to alaska and than Bella and Jacob could of been happy. They could of grown old and had kids and been happy, not like edward who is a cold monster and ruined the story.

    Ahh that feels good to get this off my chest
    I cant wait until the eclpse movie and bella and jacob kiss! Thats gonna be awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

