Clear Eyes. Full Hearts.

FNL

Can’t lose.  That’s right – Friday Night Lights.  I can’t believe I’m addicted to this show.  When I told a friend of mine that I’m hooked she had the same reaction I did when I first heard everyone raving about it, “Your kidding!  It’s football.”  Yeah, not a football fan here – but it doesn’t matter!

I picked up the first season on DVD when I found out it was a) only $20 and b) NBC was offering a money-back guarantee if you didn’t like it.  That’s how much people believe in this show.  Well, NBC can keep my money cause it was SO worth it.  It only took 60 minutes and I decided I was in for the long haul.

The first episode starts like one of those roller coasters that shoots you out at 60 MPH – sort of.  The first 20 minutes or so, I’ll admit, left me guessing whether it was all everybody said it was.  Then again, the first few EPISODES of Heroes left me wondering if it would be worth it, and we all know how that turned out.  But that was just the waiting in line part of the coaster.  The second half of the FNL pilot started it all – I felt for these characters immediately and I wanted to know where they would wind up.

We’re only through the first 6 episodes, which is good because we still have a lot to go – but it’s also bad because that means a lot of late nights over the next week.  And, yeah, did you notice the WE there.  That’s right – for the first time in years I have managed to get Mark to watch an hour long drama with me.  Sure, he and I sit down and watch the Thursday night NBC sitcom’s, but those don’t often leave much to discuss afterwards.  This, on the other hand, is great to watch with him because, first off, I’m crazy about it and need to talk to someone about it immediately.  But it’s also good because we come from different perspectives and it’s fun to argue who’s right and who’s wrong.  For example, he may be pissed at the cheating girlfriend because she’s cheating – I’m pissed at her because she’s using the cute guy from the wrong-side of the tracks because she’s an emotional mess right now.  Good times…

 And Kyle Chandler?!  Hello Emmy’s – what’s WRONG WITH YOU?!  He’s amazing and believable and he is completely Coach Taylor.  I want this guy to coach my son, his character is so perfect.

The second season premieres Friday 10/5 (I still can’t understand why it wasn’t on on Fridays to begin with).  Unfortunately it’s on opposite Moonlight – but that’s why God created TiVO isn’t it?  Get the first season and watch it to catch up in time for the premiere.  This show makes you feel everything.  And that’s what it should all be about.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

