Doesn’t everyone realize it’s premiere week?!

Life has started to spiral out of control – just in time for the one time of the year during which I try most desparately to NOT let that happen.  I’ve waited patiently, I enjoyed the summer and the fresh air and playing around.  Now I’m ready to curl up on the couch in the evenings and fall into unreality.

Yes, I will mourn the loss of Veronica.  But I’ll still have Jason Dohring on Friday nights (bonus)!  And the next two weeks bring so much promise!  The honeymoon stage of the new fall season, where all the possiblities look good and we still have a little time to determine what will hold up and what will prove to be crap.  I’m hoping that the shows I’m looking forward to this season will fall in the former category. 

I’m being pretty picky so far.  Well, I guess it’s not that picky – I’m basically just avoiding ANYTHING that is on the CW.  I’m not a neilsen house, nor will I ever be, but in principle I’m still not going to watch.  I’m struggling with that decision when it comes to Reaper.  But I’ve decided that I can at least rent the first season when it comes out on DVD (my argument being that at that point most of the money will then go to Blockbuster instead of the CW or any associated production companies).  Yeah, my logic may be flawed but I’m sticking with it.

Here’s my line-up for the week:

Tonight – How I Met Your Mother, Chuck, Heroes
Tomorrow – Bones
Thursday – Earl, Office
Friday – Moonlight

It’s too bad I can’t cap everything off with Friday Night Lights or the new Pushing Daisies but I understand the need to spread the anticipation and I’m all for it.  I’m not overwhelmed and the amount of TV I manage per week pales in comparison to others but I’m content.  Bring it on!

In American Gods, Shadow meets one of the new gods, Television, and he asks what people sacrifice to it?  “Mostly time,” an image of Lucy Ricardo in black and white replies to him.  Every once in a while that makes me rethink my habit and most of the time I try very hard to keep it reigned in.  But this is premiere week, my one time to indulge.  Now, I just need to manage to keep everything else from coming to a grinding halt while I do. 

Everything in moderation…

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

