Just like old friends…

When we switched to directTV a few weeks ago I finally got the LOGO channel.  Just for kicks I started recording Queer as Folk when I saw it was in syndication.  Right now I only have season 1 on DVD because they were so damn expensive for so long!  Needless to say, it’s been at least a year since I’ve seen an episode.

Now, the first one that I sat and watched on LOGO was challenging.  It’s hard to watch an episode of QAF that has been censored for language.  I laughed out loud during the first sequence between Emmit and his football boyfriend – it’s hard to take a word out of a show that was all about that word.

Anyway, once I got over that I was able to sit back and really enjoy it again – and realize how much I missed it.  They’re showing the final season right now and I just can’t say enough about it.  I loved these characters and I want to invite them over for a drink to see what they’ve been up to lately.

What gets me every time, though, are the opening credits of those last couple of seasons.  For one minute I’m able to focus on everything and everyone I love in that show.  It’s the best of all of the characters.  It’s love and friends and laughter and balls (I’m talking about the guts kind, not the ones jammed in the little white spandex shorts although those have their obvious role in the show as well) and support and belief – and hope.  At least that’s what it was in my eyes.

I miss that and I didn’t realize how much until tonight.  Now, if you’ll excuse me I’m due at the grand re-opening of Babylon.

P.S. – Heroes is on tomorrow night and it’s finally getting REALLY good!  Can’t wait!

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

