Warped Tour 2008: The Briggs

Joey LaRocca from The Briggs, Warped Tour 2008 Cleveland

Joey LaRocca from The Briggs, Warped Tour 2008 Cleveland

One of my favorite sets at the Warped Tour this year had to be The Briggs.  I first saw them open for Anti-Flag back in April and had bought the most recent album, at that time (Back to Higher Ground) that week.  They’ve got a reminiscent of some of the bands they more recently toured with – specifically the Dropkick Murphys and The Living End – but once you listen through the catalog it is still distinctly The Briggs.  Personally, it’s the grovelly/gritty vocals that drew me into the band in the first place.  The trade-off in vocals between brothers Jason and Joey LaRocca is a good blend although sometimes it’s hard to tell them apart.  I picked up the latest album at the show, Come All You Madmen, and was not disappointed.  Compared to Back to Higher Ground, I think it provides a little more variety from track to track.  Each one is a little different and there isn’t one that I would want to skip –  from the constant bass drum kick of Madmen to the closing melody of Molly.

Jason and Joey LaRocca of The Briggs

Jason and Joey LaRocca of The Briggs

Reading their bio, they’re called “perennial road warriors”.  I hope that holds true after this Warped Tour stint because I am looking forward to seeing a full set from them – hopefully in the near future.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

