Widowspeak: Make some changes if you’re ready…

If you feel like making changes in your world – DO IT.  Don’t ask anyone’s permission, don’t let anyone ask you if you’re sure.  You’ll know when the time is right.

One of the first things I wanted to do was get my house in order.  I spent almost a complete week confused, tired and zoned out.  People were constantly around, which was a good thing, and were doing everything for me.  After that, I needed to start doing things again.  You know, like shower and walk away from Facebook for more than 10 minutes at a time.

Once everyone left and I was left on my own I needed to get my house back in order.  It was one thing that I had control over – that I could change.  I could do the dishes and see results.  In a moment of clarity I had a urge to CLEAN (eeck…) and add a couple of simple things to my living room.  I went to Target and realized, “wow…I can pick whatever I want.”  Not that we normally disagreed about things to put in the house, but I didn’t have to wait and ask anyone elses opinion.  It was kinda liberating.

So that started the ball rolling.  The next major step was claiming a space for myself.  That turned out to be the master bedroom.  I wanted it to be mine, with the bedding I wanted, with a chair for me to read in, with the artwork that I liked on the walls.  I wanted to erase the traces of him from the room if I was going to sleep in there again.  And I wanted to be able to share MY room with someone again in the future.

It was only two weeks.  It’s probably fast to a lot of people but it was the right timing for me.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Widowspeak: Make some changes if you’re ready…

  1. dave says:

    dear Sara, You are an amazing woman! You are very important to me and I so want you to be joy-filled and fully filled and realized. Like your site here, “more everything” – I want you to have a “luscious life” as Sark describes. I admire you in so many ways, but it is such a gift to hear your thoughts and they are so well-written. Thank you for giving me a peek into your imponderable journey. True maturity and wisdom is reflected by realizing who you truly are and what would make you happy and walking towards the realization of both. You inspire me…

Leave a Reply

