I don’t do Wednesdays.

I’ve come to realize over the last few weeks that Wednesdays? Always. Seem. To Suck.

I could never quite figure out why. It would be a crazy day and I’d feel frantic or our plans would be derailed and I would look and say, “Oh my god! It’s Wednesday! Why is this always happening?!” I’ve got it now though – it just hit me as I sat at my desk unmotivated to do anything.

Wednesday is simply to far removed from the weekends.

On the weekends I get to be who I feel like. We go to a show or to dinner. We play with the kids. We work on the businesses or the house. We watch movies. We have 2.5 (or on lucky occasions even 4 or 5) days to be together in our world.

By the time Wednesday rolls around that rosy weekend glow is wearing off. We’re too far into the week to not start being jaded by work and too far from the next weekend to get excited. It’s the peak of the stress caused by not having a job that “calls” me. (Don’t get me wrong. I actually do enjoy my work most of the time, but it’s still just a job. It challenges my mind but doesn’t speak to anything necessarily important to me. And the corporate world brings along too much bullshit for me to handle sometimes.)

I was driving into the office this morning and passed empty retail spaces and store fronts – one after another – in older neighborhoods and old buildings. They had character, not cubicles. Each time I got a picture in my head of walking in in the morning turning on lights, unlocking doors and starting my day running a place of my own. The image is so clear I simply can’t believe it isn’t where I’m supposed to be. Someday. Sooner, rather than later, I hope.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t do Wednesdays.

  1. starlight741 says:

    I agree–Wednesdays do suck. Usually for me though, it’s because I have to wait one more day until The Vampire Diaries is on tv.

    • kissthelibrarian says:

      waiting for Vampire Diaries, huh? I have to admit I love the show but am not up to speed – I’m waiting for the family to be able to sit down and watch it together which is a challenge. Check out the Vampire Diaries store on CWTV, though (under Shop the Look). You might find something familiar – our bracelets and Vampire’s Bite necklace are featured in the shop!!

Leave a Reply

