“You’re a mess today, baby.”

I. Am. Distracted. Utterly and wildly distracted. I had built extra time into my morning, got a couple of additional things accomplished, but still wound up running around at the last minute looking for lunches, making bus drivers circle back around to pick-up children and hoping that what was in my hands as I was walking out the door was everything I needed (even if it most definitely did not feel that way).

Now I’m doing “the work” and it’s getting WORSE. All I want to do is surf the net, looking for solutions for the latest web-community idea, making lists of things I can make with all the materials that are floating around the house, going through pictures (none of which I have here with me) and trying to figure out what to print and where to hang them. I want to make a step-by-step plan for making the house fall/winter cozy and call our plow-guy, whose number is in my dead cell phone at home, to see if he can come and clean up our backyard for the year. I want to decide which project we can tackle this weekend and knock off the list.

I want to document every last, little, detail of the past weekend before it starts to slip away.

I want to tell Dylan I’m sorry for going on and on and on this morning about the grades and that I understand that you get it the first time but it’s just that you don’t SHOW ANY REACTION to what I’m saying. I just want to know you know and are going to do something different. And I feel crappy about how hockey is unfolding for you so far this year.

I want to make a list of things to get “the new thing” up and running. Articles and prompts, artist features, music, a playlist, beer tastings and events.

I want to dig through our photographs and pull out the ones that we want to feature somewhere. I want to update the cemetery blog and start commenting on other cemetery blogs and reading more from all these other people out there.

And I want to curl up with my book and finish it.

My problem is I want to do everything simultaneously and RIGHT NOW. But I keep glancing at the clock and it’s only 10:35AM. – 6 hours away from being able to fully entertain half of these ideas…….

…….and just when I feel I’m making progress I look back and it’s only 10:45AM.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

