The Resolution


pro·cras·ti·nate (pr-krst-nt, pr-) KEY
1. To put off doing something, especially out of habitual carelessness or laziness.
2. To postpone or delay needlessly.
pro·cras·ti·nat·ed, pro·cras·ti·nat·ing, pro·cras·ti·nates

Yep, that sounds about right. I have a problem with procrastinating. I wouldn’t say it’s out of laziness or carelessness, though, and most times I don’t think it’s needless.  Sometimes it’s necessary.  A lot of times it’s selfish.  I think I procrastinate the most from stress – stress to get everything done in the seemingly tiny chunks of time we’re left with at the end of a day or a week when the list of want to-dos and need to-dos feels SO BIG.

I just finished an almost two-week vacation (complete with both scheduled and unscheduled interruptions from “the work”). I was supposed to be on vacation today but went in because, silly me, I thought everyone would be running around after a big request that came up right when we all started our vacations.  I hadn’t been clear about my intentions, though, and no one knew I was coming in so I decided to keep the afternoon for myself to do some running around.  Of course, at 2:30 they finally realize I had been in and wonder if I can jump on the phone now around 3:30 to talk about what I was there for in the morning.  At 3:30, when I said I need to be out of the office to take care of some things.  This was followed up by an invitation for a 9-12 meeting tomorrow, in addition to the previously scheduled 12-4 meeting and topped off with a conference call from 5-6.  And now I’m officially back in the office and feeling absolutely miserable.

But I digress.  I could have had this afternoon to myself.  Instead I went to the BMV title office, then to the license office, then to the e-check and back to the license office.  Why?  Because I procrastinated over my vacation.  Simple as that.

So…that’s the first thing to go this year.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

