You’ve had a hard day and you’re offered a time machine…would you take it?

Today was hard. Before today, on the other hand, was amazing. But since I went to bed last night? Not so much amazing left. Before today I had a day to just be – to do some things that I wanted to, to feel accomplished again, to relax and to do it all with my favorite person. It was great. But with every high there’s a low (it reminds me of the stories of “uppers” and “downers” in health class way back when) – enter today. The shock of re-entering reality after even a small amount of time sucked. Then the sucking turned to crazy when all the kids got together, and the dog came out of the cage and the plates on the car wouldn’t come off easy…

“You guys are going to have to do something more productive! Running around acting crazy all the time needs to stop!”

“Roof, roof, roof!!”, “Shut up!!”

We were ready to throw in the towel.

And then after we had walked a way for a while the play room got a little quieter. At one point I went in because the volume was on the rise and I heard, “Action!” right before I opened the door. “We’re making a movie,” my thirteen year old informed me. Two of them were playing characters and the third was the director.

I walked away and I took a deep breath with a smile on my face and I felt a lot better.

When I was getting ready to get on the blog tonight I took a look at my plinky list from last week (Plinky.com, by the way, is this great little site that offers daily writing prompts) and a question caught my eye…

You get one hour in a time machine. Where to? To the past? Or to the future?

Ok, cool! Where would I go?! The answer most clearly was – nowhere. I don’t necessarily want to redo one hour of the past (unless it was an hour in the hot tub in Hocking Hills because right now that sounds AMAZING). I really don’t want to see one hour of the future (for fear it won’t be what I think I want it to be as of now). I really am most happy in the present. Even if that means I have a house full of crazy, a barking dog, a job that’s less-than-satisfactory right now and an early meeting I have to rush to in the morning.

So, where are you going? To the past? Or to the future?

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

