I have a secret identity, complete with a hideout…

Shhhh….don’t tell anyone but…are you ready?

I’m an executive at a healthcare corporation.

GASP! I know – you’re shocked. I was, too! Really, though, it isn’t nearly as interesting as being a Russian spy, nor as dangerous as slaying vampires by night. But it is definitely a double-life for me. And realistically, being on the business side of healthcare challenges my moral fiber more times than I like. But it’s a job, doing something that I do actually like once in a while (I am a Virgo, as well, and a natural-born analyst because of it) – and those are hard to come by nowadays!

So what’s the double in this double-life? Here’s how I define it: I’m an office-bound creative. Yep – that weird person in the office with toys on their desk who sometimes says things that are just a little off. That’s me. Most days I would rather be in the cemetery with my camera or at home making stuff. And because of it I have a large number of things around me at all times to keep me grounded in that creative, ME part of my life.

I have a bunch of pictures and magnets up on my wall – from concert pics, to the kids, to a Shihan poem my favorite someone sent to me a long time ago, to places that make me feel relaxed (and of course the obligatory Dilbert comic strip and Office quote). Which brings me to the real reason why this all came up today….

This picture sits front and center, right to the side of my computer screen. We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights here back at the end of September. It’s a cabin in Hocking Hills and it will forever be one of my favorite getaways (because who knows what the next vacation will bring). When we walked in the front door of this cabin time stood still for us – FINALLY. We had four nights and days of hiking, great meals cooked on the grill, fresh food, wine, beer, hot tub fun and fires. And best of all 4 nights of being secluded and together and away from the rest of the world.

This is my secret hideout…I would run back if there were two feet of snow on the ground there or if it was 100 degrees there. So it’s here in front of me, along with everything else, to remind that there is more than sitting at this desk in this office for more days than I would like.

(The cabin, by the way, is in Hocking Hills, Ohio – a beautiful place to visit and vacation. It’s a little woodsy tourist spot but a great escape from the daily grind. This is Cook’s Creek Cabin and if your interested email us for info and tell them we recommended it.)

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

