6 Ingredients, 5 Steps: Blackberry Mint Lemonade

Homemade Blackberry Mint Lemonade

Fresh blackberries, lemons and pineapple mint

Our recipe for simple blackberry mint lemonade is great as-is and even better when mixed with some red wine (for an instant sangria)!  Great addition to a simple summer dinner to add just a little extra bit of relaxation and enjoyment.

Our garden is going gang-busters.  Since this is the first year I’ve actually considered myself a “gardener” it also seems to be the first year that I’m actively trying to make stuff out of all the goodness growing in the backyard.

Last week I tried my hand at homemade lemonade for the first time – and I don’t know what ever took me so long.  It was so easy.

 

Ingredients:

1 C Sugar

1 C Hot Water

3 C Cold Water

5-6 Lemons (depending on the size)

1/2 an Orange

4-5 Sprigs fresh mint (we used 4 sprigs of fresh pineapple mint and 1 sprig of spearmint  from the garden)

1 C Blackberries

How-To:

1.  Juice the lemons and orange together to produce about 1 cup of juice altogether.

2.  In a bowl mix a sprinkle of sugar, your blackberries and the fresh-squeezed juice together.  Using a hand-blender, blend until smooth.

3.  Place a small strainer over your pitcher or serving vessel and strain the mixture into it to eliminate any extra pulp and seeds (you can skip this step if you like pulp in your drinks).

4.  Mix the remaining sugar and hot water in a small saucepan and heat until sugar is thoroughly dissolved (making a simple syrup).

5.  Add the sugar mixture and remaining 3 cups of cold water to your juice mixture and stir.

Optional:  When serving, mix half lemonade with half red wine (sweet red seems to work best, but Zinfandel is interesting too) for a quick and easy sangria!

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

