My Birthday Wish

I found this link posted on my facebook page today with a Happy Birthday note attached. It was a day early which made it a great surprise, especially on a day when I was driving home feeling completely defeated.

The first time someone shared this amazing poem with me it was in a facebook message, qualified by a statement that meant something like, “I don’t want to freak you out but this kinda reminds me of us and our new thing we have going on”. That was probably a week after said someone and I had been talking and hanging out again after 15 years. Fifteen years!!

Fifteen years of seperate good and bad moments – kids, divorces, drama, even death. Fifteen years of growing up, sometimes the hard way. geographically crossing paths more than we probably ever knew. Fifteen years of even winding up at the same show, probably within 20 feet of each other without even knowing it. Fifteen years that, if I didn’t believe had to happen the way that they did in order to bring us to this place, I would do differently if it meant that we could have spent them this happy together.

Some things are meant to be hard, to be broken, to be different – to be delayed. And some things are just meant to be.

Now, all that being said, this poem is great. And I’m lucky that the same someone is still sending it to me 2 1/2 years later.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Odd Papa and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

