What did you do today?

The bottom half of my right leg is killing me. It’s throbbing and tingly. It reminds me of the shin splints I used to get in high school each year when the dance season started. I’ve been laying in bed and I feel like I could just randomly double-over in pain.

So, what happened?

Well, I’ll tell you what didn’t. I didn’t get in any horrendous car crash. I didn’t run 15 miles. I didn’t enter a dance marathon 3 days ago and just finally stop.  But what did happen?

Apparently, another “typical” day in my life.

My legs might hurt because I walked 5 blocks, in crappy shoes, to get a salad from my favorite lunch spot (the Market on E9th St in Cleveland). Today, I was lucky enough to have lunch with Bryan.  Unluckily, though, we had to use that time to cram for the public notary test that we hadn’t been successfully studying for.  During lunch, Bryan got a phone call. It was from the staffing agency that he recently hooked up with.

See, he left his full-time job as a delivery driver for a steel company back in April. Notice I said “he left”. He didn’t get laid off or fired. He left of his own accord during this dreadful economy. WHY? Because he was working 60 HOUR WEEKS and never knew when he was getting home and , **GASP**, he wanted to spend more time with us as a family. And he wanted to try to BE SELF-SUFFICIENT. It didn’t go exactly as planned because we made a mistake.

We didn’t follow our passions.

We got distracted and tried to do what we thought would be “easier” or “better” and never really got it off the ground. Back to the phone call…

The staffing agency wanted to know when he could start this new awesome full-time position he interviewed for earlier in the week. Shortly, he’ll be making cranio-facial skull implants.

Yeah, you read that right.

But still, why do my legs hurt? Well, we walked back said 5 blocks and added a couple of more because we had to go to the courthouse to take our notary test. Public notary? Why? Well, I’d say, “Why not?”

Exactly.

We passed. With flying colors. And while this is superawesome because we were a little worried…it isn’t exactly huge since the woman next to us who was freaking out about, “oh my god I don’t know any of this” passed, too. HOWEVER….we became notaries today. And at this time my leg still didn’t even hurt.

Four blocks and 20 minutes later (due to the detour caused by the medical mart construction here in Cleveland) my leg started to feel a little funny. But we got back to the car and drove out to Tremont. We had lunch at the South Side (Chipotle Duck Pizza and Bison & Black Bean Chili with 2 Dogfishead Punkin Ales, thank you very much) – something we tried to do last Saturday night but failed miserably at.

At this point my leg, I believe, was starting to throb.   I didn’t think about it at all, though, because we were too busy planning the launch and re-launch of various merchandise lines – tshirts, hats, home decor, and more.

By now it was only 4:00PM.

And here I am, not quite tired, but incredibly uncomfortable. But still….so happy I could possibly burst.

So. What did you do today?

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in About and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

