Mission: Closet Refresh

A lot of times I hesitate to talk about “fashion” or “style”.  Those words carry some negative connotations for me, I have to admit.  I immediately start to think about models, ridiculous prices and Tyra Banks.  And I say to myself, “I am NOT a girlie girl.  Fashion just sounds so….ugh.”  I picture blonde girls with designer bags and sunglasses running around with their daddy’s credit cards.  There’s just one problem.

I LOVE CLOTHES!

andy pretty in pinkI think I can trace it back to the first time I ever watched Pretty in Pink.  I spent the next weeks digging through my jewelry box trying to artfully mismatch my earrings and looking in all the stores for pieces I could use to transform myself into Molly Ringwald (except for hats – I am decidedly NOT a hat person).

Fast forward too many years…. I don’t have a deep closet and I certainly don’t have deep pockets.  I don’t collect fashion magazines and I’ve been told I’m “not a normal girl”.  Add to that the fact that I don’t have a creative day job, I have 3 kids and I have to dress for an ice rink on a regular basis.  We don’t go for drinks or dinner often. You see why it’s pretty easy for personal style to exit quickly stage left in my world?

I started to get the itch a little last spring when we were at this AWESOME record shop in Cincinnati and I came across the free, first issue of A-Line Magazine.  Classy with a quirk was their tag line – okay, I’m listening.  I was immediately drawn to the vintage, mismatch looks in their main feature.  And then I came home and things got busy and I fell back into my normal rut.  But it was soon summer so it was easy.

Since then I discovered pinterest and polyvore and have been bombarded with images I love.  This morning I clicked on a pin about creating your own photo canvas and discovered this blog. I’m envious.  This girl has great style, runs a vintage shop with her husband and appears to be living our dream life.  And it was enough to push me over the edge…

So, I’m on a mission.  My closet is getting cleaned out.  I’m making a custom dress form.  I’m going to Thrift Nation and Avalon (my two favorite local resale shops).  I’m dusting off the sewing machine and pulling out the vintage restyle book from the library.  And I’m going to try my hardest not to pay more than $10 for any piece that I add to my wardrobe.  Watch for updates on my progress because I plan to be breaking out of the rut.  And possibly going for drinks more so I have a good excuse to get dressed.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Crafts & Style, Mama's a Mess, Style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mission: Closet Refresh

  1. Pingback: My ModCloth Addiction | Blakow!

Leave a Reply

