Someone was about to get attacked by a deer…

I just read a headline on Yahoo news which claims that one report projects car-deer crashes in one Northeast Ohio community to increase even more in December. Which reminded me of a story…….

Let me start by saying, we live in a Northeast Ohio suburb where the deer are OUT OF CONTROL. It doesn’t help that the neighbors have set up a feeding station for them in their backyard. They claim it keeps them from eating everything else. And it probably does – in THEIR YARD. They eat everything in our yard. We’ve had to try to build a barricade across the back of the yard and do so many other things just to try to salvage some plant life, let alone our garden. But I digress…the story.

About two weeks ago I was driving out of my parking garage at work. We’re located on the lakeshore center of Downtown Cleveland. There’s us, a major highway, Airport/Rock Hall and the lake. Heading towards the highway on ramp I saw a young buck dartin front of an RTA bus. And that’s when it all went down:

First I’m thinking there’s about to be splattered deer across my windshield because the bus is going to mow it down. Instead, the deer’s hind-legs bounce off the corner of the bus sending him barreling towards a man standing on the corner waiting for said bus.

Then I’m like – oh my god that guy’s about to get attacked by a deer! Not quite. The guy braces himself for a fight and happens to be holding, what appears to be, half of a yellow broomstick in his hands. WHAT?! Yeah….He swings at the deer and catches it in the back, bouncing it off a telephone pole. The man’s now just confused, panting and looking at the stick. The deer, on the other hand, is still freakin’ out.

He takes off barreling across one of the major public parking lots in Downtown Cleveland. At 4:20 in the afternoon. Just in time for people to be walking to their cars after work.

At this point, I’m getting on the highway and driving home. As I’m going I start to think about this situation:

1. The deer has only a handful of places it can go from here:

  •   towards all the tourists at the Rock Hall
  •   onto the tarmac of the airport
  •   into 60 MPH traffic on the shoreway
  •   up E 9th St and further into Downtown Cleveland at closing time.

He’s frantic and confused and something bad is probably going to happen.

2. What the hell would I do if a full grown buck came running towards me while I was walking to my car after work?! I’m certainly not carrying around large sticks very often….

3. How is it possible that guy just HAPPENED to have a large stick in his hand?!

We thought for sure that that evening there would be a report of a bad car crash or an animal attack. In the end, we couldn’t find anything, though. In my mind, however, it was just more proof that the deer population is getting out of control again and we need to open season to reign it back in.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Mama's a Mess, Random Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

