All dressed up with nowhere to go…

Image

Mama’s been M.I.A. here lately.  I’ve been in an introverted phase again I guess.  I’ve noticed that my needs and the things that I get lured into tend to ebb and flow between phases of producing and absorbing.  I’ll start making things left and right and feel like I just can’t stop.  I’ll have drawings and lists of ideas that I can’t even finish fast enough.  Then just as quick as it started it will all dry up.  I’ve been so far removed from my studio right now that I can’t hardly remember where I put things during the last reorganization phase (yeah, I left that one out up above).

Then I get hooked on an idea or two and start moving into the absorbing phase.  I’ll read everything I can get my hands and spend all my free time just going over and over the books or the lists or the plans.  This can and will go on for any number of weeks until I start to feel content.  Then I’ll start to crave again and go on the hunt for fresh inspiration.  I’ll go back to the blogs I haven’t read for weeks or months and catch up.  I’ll go through our photos and pinterest, get lost in etsy for a while.

And then I’ll start to get really crabby.

Because at this point I’m on overload.  I’ll pull away from everything – have so much in my mind and so many places I want to start that I’ll just freeze and not do anything instead.  I’ll feel like I spend all my time just catching up that I NEVER have time to be creative.  Things will become very melodramatic at times.  And that brings us to this current week….

I spent days and days preparing for a huge meeting at work and it took everything out of me.  Add to that more stupid drama from the week prior and it was really hanging on me.  I felt like I needed to close my self off in the studio and come back out four days later.  And then I found a new book series last night (The Iron Druid – urban fantasy featuring a 21-century old Druid, fae, vampires, werewolves and tons of mythology.  It’s right up my alley) and downloaded the audio version of the Hunger Games.   Now I’m hooked, have found a bit of a release and you wouldn’t believe what happened.

Everyone’s occupied and doesn’t need me and I have no freakin’ idea what to do with myself!  I checked on my stepson – playing with army guys and completely content.  My stepdaughter – making jewelry (yeah, I know – completely awesome, right?).  My son – listening to a new dubstep download and playing PS2.  Bryan’s compiling an up and coming blog post and I’m bouncing around between them making sure they’re all really sure they’re busy.

I have all the time I could ask for right now and no idea where to start..and if Bryan doesn’t stop looking through YouTube right now I could wind up on another loop of rockabilly posts.  Which can’t be ALL bad, I guess.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Finds, Mama's a Mess, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

