Covers That Are Better Than The Originals

My big, little brother from Chicago (the gentle giant that we provided billet housing for last season) had recently posted something on Facebook that took me by surprise. It was the original video for a song that I have come to love and never even knew it was a cover. I gave it a chance, but alas, I still maintain that the Star Fucking Hipsters version of Ana Ng is better than the They Might Be Giants version.

This also prompted me to start reviewing all of the cover songs that I enjoy more than the originals and here are some of them:

House of the Rising Sun by The Animals – originally done by Leadbelly in 1944

As much as I love Robert Johnson, I really prefer he Cowboy Junkies version of Me and the Devil Blues

This one is gonna piss a few people off: Die, Die , Die My Darling by Aiden – original by The Misfits

yes, Marilyn Manson completely made Sweet Dreams his song – Eurythmics who?

I never Promised You A Rose Garden by The Suicide Machines – original by Lynn Anderson

Enjoy The Silence by Lacuna Coil – original by Depeche Mode

Hurt by Johnny Cash – original by Nine Inch Nails *this is a big disagreement between Sara & I, but she is a bit biased toward the music of Trent Reznor*

and speaking of Johnny Cash…

Ring Of Fire by Social Distortion – original by (if I have to type this out, you should just stab yourself in the eye)

[Social D closed their encore set with this song when we saw them in Cincinnati last year and it was the perfect end to an incredible show]

All Along The Watchtower by Jimi Hendrix – original by Bob Dylan

Kids In America by Pennywise – original by Kim Wilde

Higher Ground by The Red Hot Chili Peppers – original by Stevie Wonder

I chose to use this video of them performing it on The Arsenio Hall Show in 1989 because 1) I’ve always kinda liked Arsenio and he is from Cleveland and 2) It’s cool to see them back before they were main stream.

Of course I couldn’t stop posting videos without adding this fun American Psycho tribute of Richard Cheese’s version of Down With The Sickness by Disturbed

I could actually fill a few more blog posts with good covers, but I won’t do that (at least not yet). I will, hoever give you a list of honorable mentions:

In The Air Tonight by Nonpoint – original by Phil Collins/Genesis

To Have And Have Not by Lars Fredericksen and the Bastards – original by Billy Bragg

Satisfaction by The Rolling Stones – original by Otis Redding

Word Up by Korn – original by Cameo

Barbie Girl by Tsunami Bomb – original by Aqua

Hazy Shade Of Winter by The Bangles – original by Simon & Garfunkel

No Ordinary Love by The Deftones – original by Sade

What A Wonderful World by Joey Ramone – original by Louis Armstrong

I Wanna Be Your Dog by The Sex Pistols – original by Paul Revere And The Raiders

and one of my new favorites, thanks to Dave at The Sun Burns Cold, The Ghost Of Tom Joad by Rage Against The Machine – original by Bruce Springsteen

This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Media, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Covers That Are Better Than The Originals

  1. Pingback: Hard to Believe They Covered This One « The Sun Burns Cold

Leave a Reply

