Coming back around.

Image

It’s been hard to blog for a little while now.  As if you didn’t notice, things have slowed down here a lot.  Some of it is because we’ve been busy. “You’re always busy!” you might say and I agree.  It really shouldn’t have an impact on what we’re doing here.  Some of the things that are taking up time and money right now are physically and mentally draining.  To the point of exhaustion.  I can’t tell you how many times Bryan and I look at each other in bed at night, trying to watch something or spend some time together, and are angry about constantly being tired.”I’m tired of being tired,” is a very common refrain in our house.

So we step back from some of things that make us who we are.

Part of the challenge with blogging over the last 6 months (at least, probably longer) is that we know that not everyone who is reading our blog is doing so for the right reasons.  I use this blog to talk about the amazing life I have with my husband and family.  And it isn’t always roses and sunshine.  Some days it sucks.  I struggle with things.  I feel depressed and lonely and disengaged.  For a little while I wanted to hide that from the people that I know are here just to dig up, what they believe, will be a wonderful little nugget of misery or libel or who knows what else.

Guess what – you’re not going to find it.  You can waste your time pouring over our adventures – our life – over and over trying to figure out how to spin it, how to react to it, how to be pissed off about it.  That’s not hurting us in the least.  People will always be here for a reason other than we intended or take away from a post something that had nothing to do with our original intent.  Sometimes they’ll take our intent and be offended – not my problem.  Sorry you’re so close-minded.

This blog is bigger than reaching any sort of audience.  It’s our own personal record of what’s happening – what we’re into and what we’re thinking or doing.  It’s a journal in its own right (which is all blogs were every intended to be anyway, right?).  And yes, everyday I wake up next to the only person I can ever imagine waking up next to and most of the time I’m happy.  But it isn’t every day.  That doesn’t mean I don’t thank my lucky stars all the time for what feels like a charmed life – even perfect isn’t perfect 100% of the time.

We’ve lost months of this record because we knew we couldn’t control who was reading it.

At the same time the right people are reading, too, and taking away everything we intended.  These people get it – they’re kindred spirits.  They’re happy or content with at least some aspect of their life and they have good intentions.  Sometimes people even like what we have to say!  Bonus!  And if these people don’t like what we have to say about something then at least it can spark a healthy debate.  That’s a good thing, too.  These are the people who can find some string of happiness in their lives.  It’s all of that that’s brought us back around to the blog.  This is just us – by us for us.  This is what we do and how we live and what we love.  It’s that simple.

So, to all our fellow adventurers take what you will from these pages.  I hope you find some things that make you smile or make you think.

To everyone else – please continue to waste away your miserable life.  When you think you see something here that spells out “trouble in paradise” know that it’s probably misinterpretation.  If it isn’t then it’s most definitely temporary.  Either way I can guarantee – it has absolutely nothing to do with you.

Here’s hoping for a come back.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Mama's a Mess, Relationship, Relationship & Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming back around.

Leave a Reply

