New Feature: Graphic Content

The second contributor we are privileged to bring into the fold here at Blakow brings us Graphic Content – a new regular update from the comic world.  This isn’t just comics news or reviews but rather anything that strikes the fancy of our favorite comic book store manager.  A long time ago, when I hosted a Buffy fan site, people knew him as Uncle Adam.  Today he may have chosen a different moniker but he still provides the same smart ass perspective.  He’d have to, after all, when dealing in alternate realities (whether they be on paper or in someone’s head) day in and day out it’s a matter of survival.  Enough from me, though.  Let’s have him introduce himself…

Welcome to the inaugural post of Graphic Content.  My name is AJ and I’ll be your Conductor on this magical ride.  Well, not so much as magical – or even a ride – more like random ramblings regarding comics.  And I’m not really a Conductor, per se, but really just some guy who manages a comic shop and has friends with a website that wanted comic-related material.  So scratch that whole Conductor and magic ride bullshit.  I guess it’s more like “I’m AJ and I’ll be your lazy, under-achieving commentator that’s only doing this because of the persistent proddings of his friends who actually possess some form of motivation.”

Since this is all new to me, I’m not sure exactly what type of format this column will eventually follow (shocking, right?).  Although I plan on reviewing some storylines, I will also cover updates I hear and read about in the comic industry as well as fill you all in on our little slice of geekdom I like to call My Store.  We have some very interesting characters – I mean customers – that walk through our doors causing hilarity to ensue.  Or, even better, sometimes we have a total asshole walk through the door and I have to cuss him out and make him leave.  Those are the days that I love my job the most!  Seriously, though, I get paid to sell comics.  It’s my job to read comics and to talk about comics.  This is the best gig in the world and hopefully this column will just make it that much better.

The past year has been an exciting time to be a comic fan and a retailer.  In September 2011, DC rebooted their whole universe.  Dubbed “The New 52” because it encompassed 52 new titles, the re-launch included regular top sellers and books starring lesser known characters.  They also mixed it up by including some horror and darker characters into the main superhero universe.  Marvel published the wildly successful Avengers VS X-Men mini-series.  And while they steadfastly deny they are also in the midst of a reboot, the Marvel Now initiative has many of their books ending and restarting with new #1’s.  Let us not forget, also, the onslaught of awesomeness that hit the big screens this past summer with Avengers, The Dark Knight Rises and Amazing Spider-Man.  All of this has culminated in a big upswing in the industry bringing new fans into the stores.  While some old time fans are still pissing and whining about the “loss” of “their superheroes,” I’m enjoying most of the new imaginings. Some have fallen a little flat but most are pretty cool.  And let’s face it, these are freakin’ comics!  Get over it and stop buying the books if you’re that upset.  I really don’t have the stomach to watch grown men cry in the middle of a comic book store.

Next time I’m going to take my first stab at a comic review.  We’ll be taking a look at the “Death of the Family” going on in Batman.  In the meantime, shoot me some comments and let me know what you would like me to discuss in future columns.  I can’t promise I’ll listen but at least if you leave a comment it will look like somebody’s reading this stuff.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Comics, Graphic Content and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Feature: Graphic Content

  1. wwayne says:

    “Shoot me some comments and let me know what you would like me to discuss in future columns”: If you read them, I would like you to share your thoughts about my favorite New 52 series, Animal Man and Swamp Thing. Both their first story arcs are definitely going to be added to this list: http://thedynamicbuzz.com/2012/11/12/preview-batgirl-14/#comments.

Leave a Reply

