Happiness Rule #3: Buy New Sheets

About 3 years ago we re-purposed the layout of our home and created our own version of a master suite (thinking back I can’t believe it’s been this long).  No – it isn’t the room in this picture yet.  But sometimes it makes me feel like I’m in the room in this picture.  Anyway…

Our house was originally a 3-family house built by my grandfather back in the 30’s.  It started as a small bungalow and as the family grew so did the house – addition after addition.  At most it held an apartment in the upstairs, a mother-in-law suite and the main 2 bedroom house.  Over the years it adapted and changed.  It never stops evolving.

This time around we decided to reclaim the mother-in-law suite.  It had been converted into office and play space, the small kitchen removed and the bathroom in need of a major overhaul.  We turned it back into a working unit. We reinstalled a sink and refrigerator in the kitchen area which would become our work room (for t-shirts, photography, gardening, etc.) and replaced all the fixtures in the bathroom.  The play room was turned into a large office with two BIG thrifted desks and what was my old craft room became our new bedroom.  I love being in this space.  It’s not your traditional master suite, but it’s perfect for how we enjoy spending our time most.  One day it will be “done” and I’ll be able to take pictures to post here.

But this was supposed to be a post about my happiness rules, wasn’t it?  Yes – absolutely. If you recall, I talked about happiness rule #1 and #2 a while back.  The latest addition came through loud and clear about one month ago.

Buy new sheets.

In the happiness project, she talks about buying happiness.  It sounds like a horrible concept, doesn’t it?  In the right context, though, it makes perfect sense.  Take one night about a month ago….I was lying in bed and noticed a small tear in the sheets.  I had no idea where it came from and proceeded to just roll over.  A couple of days later I was being held captive by my bed in the middle of the night unable to keep my hands or arms from finding their way into this now gaping hole and getting pinned down as I thrashed my way through the night.  So, why didn’t I just change the sheets right away?  Because these were my favorite sheets.  The other two sets we had had their own problems.  But I sucked it up and put on another set instead.  Two days later?  There’s a soul-sucking hole at my feet!!  What the hell was going on?

Thankfully we found ourselves at a discount store that weekend, on a whim, where they happened to have 400 count sheets on sale for $20 (mind you, we have a king size bed so that was a STEAL).  I think they were pushing the 400 count quality but when they were washed and on my bed they felt like a dream.  That is, until my dog decided to curl up in the middle of the bed last night and put his head on Bryan’s pillow.  Up to then we were living a fantasy every night when we settled in (okay, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration – but I love these sheets).  And until I went to change the sheets last night and realized the last “good” set was still in the wash I thought buying the new sheets had solved all my problems.

The real happiness rule #3?  Always have a brand new set of sheets on the bed AND in reserve.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Mama's a Mess, Relationship & Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

