5,000 years out of the labyrinth…

Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break “Five thousand years out of the Labyrinth, the Minotaur finds himself in the American South, living in a trailer park and working as a line cook at a steakhouse. No longer a devourer of human flesh, the Minotaur is a socially inept, lonely creature with very human needs. But over a two-week period, as his life dissolves into chaos, this broken and alienated immortal awakens to the possibility for happiness and to the capacity for love.”

 

 

 

 

I often struggle to find fiction books to read.  I have basically two things I follow religiously at this point – one is the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.  The other is Neil Gaiman.  I’m not left with many authors or book series that I’m clamoring to get my hands on.  I’ve read a lot of series that started good but then, by the third or fourth book, I would lose interest.  I have another problem – I love supernatural or urban fantasy.  I’ve tried Parasol Protectorate, Dresden Files, and others and often gotten through only a fraction of one book.  I’ve tried things like “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” as an alternative only to find myself at page 95, not quite engaged and wondering why I don’t just go find something with werewolves in it.  Understanding this, you can see where it might be hard for me to make fiction selections with my audible.com credits.

When we had amassed too many credits again and had to splurge on some audio I was stuck.  But when I saw the Neil Gaiman had his own line of featured authors and books on audible.com I thought there might be some hope.  Perusing the fairly robust list, Minotaur stood out to me first.

We love mythology and, sure, the minotaur wasn’t a werewolf but he was a beast from another place and time with all his own baggage.  That could work.  To remove him and put him in a modern day setting, with regular human problems was intriguing.  I decided to give it a try.

It was worth the time and listen.  It was a slow journey – the build up didn’t always feel like it was building up or leading to a specific place.  It was enjoyable nevertheless.  I never quite got a sense of chaos from the change in the minotaur’s days.  For me it was more of a loping sort of journey towards change.  And M?  The minotaur himself?  In less than an hour I already felt attached to him.  That, in and of itself, drew me into his seemingly normal daily grind and kept me wanting to sneak in a few extra minutes to drive somewhere so I could listen just a little bit more.

Overall, it was worth the time but, if you’re like me, I recommend the audio.  Knowing my own reading habits, I’m not sure if the pace would have been as pleasurable in written form. I’m afraid it may have gone by way of my other fiction trials if that had been the case.  As it turned out, it was great accompaniment to my daily commute.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

