10 Ways to Not Be a Total B*tch in the Morning

positive thinkingThe stress of work, home and kids can get to be too much for anyone from time to time.  For me, it often surfaces most in the morning.  I simply don’t want to get out of bed.  I don’t want to deal with the day.  I certainly don’t want to make any freakin’ sandwiches for lunches for the 1,000th time.  I start to snap and pout – I can be a total bitch.  The good news for everyone?  I’m trying REALLY hard to change that.  So, just the other day I sat down and made myself a list of things I can do to wake up in a good place.  Things that will get the day started positively instead.  Here’s my checklist:

– Start the night before.  The more I can do ahead of time, the better off I am in the morning.

  1. Make sandwiches/salads for lunch the next day.
  2. Get the coffee ready ahead of time (get a coffee pot with a timer if you don’t have one).
  3. Make a plan for the next day.  I sit down with my calendar from work and from home and figure out exactly what I need to try to accomplish the next day.
  4. Recap with your husband (or wife).  Bryan and I try to find time to sit down, even if it’s just 15 minutes, and talk about what’s coming up the next day.  It also helps to talk about any wins we had that day, too.  A little reminder of good things that are happening.
  5. Find some meditation music.  Bryan just pulled up something from Anugama last night (an alternative in our house may be bands like Explosions in the Sky or Mogwai).  After 30 seconds I was completely relaxed.  We’re thinking that if we turn some of this on after work it will be a great opportunity to unwind for a good night’s sleep.

– Once the alarms go off, Phase 2 kicks in.

  1. Wake up when the alarm goes off.  I know this one probably makes every list out there.  It really seems to be an issue for us, though.  There were mornings when we would snooze for 1 1/2 hours.  It’s ridiculous and completely disruptive.
  2. Breathe.  I have to start taking a minute to center myself before jumping in.  A couple of deep breaths and an extra opportunity to relax seem to make it a lot easier.
  3. Snuggle.  We can’t get out of bed without a significant amount of snuggle time.  There’s usually a routine we go through – it’s kind of funny.  I have to let myself indulge in that, though.  It really does make it a little easier to get up and think about breaking away.
  4. Come up with at least one thing that will be great about the day.  No matter how bad the day seems it’s going to be, there must always be ONE thing that will be great.  Even if it’s coming back home at the end of the day.
  5. Don’t look at to-dos as a bad thing.  I have a habit of saying, “oh my god I have to do this, and this, and ….ugh.”  I’m trying to consciously turn that around.  To-dos are a fact of life.  At least I’m awake and able to keep doing.

It’s a new list for me and so far, so good.  The best part?  I didn’t have to do it on my own.  Bryan was right there with suggestions and ideas, trying to find ways to help.  That, in and of itself, is incentive to make it better.  Hopefully I’ll be able to make it a habit.  Even if it helps a little bit it will be a start.

Attitude is infectious – and I don’t want to infect my household with negativity.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Relationship, Relationship & Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

