Never Going Back the Same Way Again

no_u_turnTomorrow marks my first official, on-site day back to work from the holidays.  I have been home since the afternoon of 12/22.  It hasn’t always seemed as fruitful as I might have like.  There are always visions of grandeur that seem to kick-start a vacation – I’m going to do this, and this, and that…oh, and this…..and on and on.  This time around we accomplished some things and not others but…

It was 16 days of AMAZING.

Bryan’s been home most of the time, give or take a couple of unexpected days and a little sickness.  We had a great balance of time with and without the kids in varying combinations.  We got shit done.  We had a great chance to regroup and I had a TREMENDOUS chance to refocus.  So what all happened here at the Green house during all this time?  I know I won’t catch everything, but here’s the highlights (primarily so I can feel good, again, about how awesome this vacation was and secondarily for those who may be remotely interested):

– We reached “finishing” status on a project to reclaim our second floor that was started in March 2012.  If anyone recalls, we made the tough decision to eliminate ourselves from a local billet family program.  As a result, we regained a whole section of our house.  We restructured the floor plan of one half for my teenage son’s room, including exposing an interior furnace chimney, closing a wall and relocating/building a walk-in closet.  The other half is a family game room – video game area, air hockey table, pool table, darts, a sleeper sofa and more.  It kicks ass and possibly someday photos will follow.  It was a huge project that was basically finished in the equivalent of two weeks tops.

– We removed a huge cabinet from our dining room that was acting as a bar and created an inset cabinet instead using an existing old exterior window opening.

– We loaded a 1/2 cord of wood into our basement to continue to support our switch to zone and wood heating.

– We reorganized and purged our asses off:  kids rooms, our bedroom, the utility room (old kitchen) in our suite, basement, game room, and attic.

– We completely changed the floor plan of our office desks and storage.  We were able to reclaim shelves and eliminate an entire small bookcase which, if you could understand our “stash”, is a HUGE accomplishment.  Our desks are 40-50% clear space now!!

– We made it through a whopping 9 loads of laundry that had accumulated over the holidays.  (It’s insane, I understand.  I was in the basement one day and realized, “Fuck – where did this all come from?!!”  I have no idea how it happened.  Everyone just lost their minds.)

– We developed a plan that will hopefully keep us from ever having 9 loads of laundry in the basement at any given time.

– We watched 3 movies (The Dark Knight Rises which was awesome due to the last 40 minutes of it, Paranorman which was fun, and Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter which I really only watched out of the corner of my eye for about 45 minutes because it didn’t capture my attention AT ALL).

– We worked sporadically and planned for our return to work (boo!!!)

– We worked out at the Y (once, but it still counts!)

– Bryan installed the floor and wall of the fermentation room that will be in our basement.

– We had breakfast together, without the kids.

– We spent a couple of great evenings with family.

– I daydreamed about redecorating our whole house, and started actually revising “the list” to make sure this starts to happen.

– We made cookies for Santa and almost forgot to put the plate out (my 15 year old remembered, the 9 year olds were too eager to just get to bed as quickly as possible).

– We played LOTS of games.

– We did our nails.

– I did some crafts.

– I developed an obsession with moss and terrariums and have completely rethought how to handle live plants in our low-light house.

– I sat down and figured out what I needed to implement to make this “going back to work” thing not as daunting.

– I read and let myself get lost in ideas.

– We got inspired and inspired each other.

– We got to just spend time in love.

– I hardly thought about my job.

– I decided that 2013 is going to be a year of crazy change, abundance and happiness for all of us and I can feel it happening as we speak.

Yes, we are going back to a routine tomorrow.  School and jobs put a damper on everything.  The constraints on our schedule, the extra stuff to get done – it’s not awesome.  But our kids are getting ready to start new things and we have an unbelievable amount of momentum coming out of this break.  It isn’t even making me feel bad right now.  We kicked ass on this vacation and I can honestly say that I feel we used our time to the fullest.  All of that? THAT is a great change.

Tomorrow, I’m not going back.  I’m going forward.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Mama's a Mess, Relationship, Relationship & Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Going Back the Same Way Again

  1. Pingback: Excuse Me, Your Life is Waiting (My Page 20 Epiphany) | Blakow!

Leave a Reply

