3 Acres = 1 Million Pounds of Food

willallen_growingpower

This man is the co-founder of a company that has managed to grow 1 million pounds of food on 3 acres.  It is creating community, growing minds and changing young peoples lives.

To say the least, I’m jealous.  I was struggling to get 2 pounds of food out of my 1/3 planted acre thanks to the over-sized rodents that are rampaging across our properties here.  Looks like we need structures and support from our community.  Sounds easy enough, right?

Not in a small suburban community.  Small town politics are ridiculously troublesome and often times quite menial.  You, sir, will never be the President of the United States.  You will continue to be nothing more than the former mayor of our small community.  If you’re lucky someone will write you a glowing obituary, maybe a full page, in our community paper when you die.

I wish you would wonder what might happen if you dreamed bigger or wanted more for us than just maintaining enough constituents  to get you elected to your next four-year term (most of whom won’t even still be here to support your final 5-minutes of fame in the local post).  What if you wanted to put our city on the map and make a difference?  I would be willing to put my acre towards it and I know my neighbors might, too.  That’s over 2 acres ready to go (only because we can’t give our full acres – need to keep our houses, sorry).

Apparently real change and politics don’t mix, though. We could all take a lesson from Will and his partners at Growing Power.

The full story can be found here:  http://wakeup-world.com/2011/07/26/part-2-how-1-million-pounds-of-organic-food-can-be-produced-on-3-acres/

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Gardening & Sustainability, Mama's a Mess, Politics & Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

