Tangling my way to a clear mind

In a flurry of New Year’s week activity, I spent a full morning rapidly downloading book previews on my Kindle, reading magazines and creating some art.  It was a day to build momentum and so much has come from it.  One of my favorite finds was the art of Zentangle.

So what is it?  According to www.zentangle.com,

Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns.

Almost anyone can use it to create beautiful images. It increases focus and creativity, provides artistic satisfaction along with an increased sense of personal well being. The Zentangle method is enjoyed all over this world across a wide range of skills, interests and ages.

We believe that life is an art form and that our Zentangle method is an elegant metaphor for deliberate artistry in life.

I haven’t had an opportunity to explore it nearly as much as I’d like yet.  This week, however, I did start my first couple of tangles.  This is my favorite.

zentangle

It’s a crappy picture in poor light from my blackberry camera but hopefully you get the gist.  I’m excited about doing more of these little pieces of art.  I’m anxious to see how they develop from here.  It can truly be meditative – a great way to center, refocus and relax.  If this is the outcome from 30 minutes of meditation?  It may be a great way to fill the house with tiny pieces of inspiration.

Sure, it isn’t any sort of ancient way passed down by some small sub sect of monks, hidden in the mountains of an unknown Asian land.  It appears to have been developed by a couple of misplaced hippies on the east coast who have managed to turn a profit on hundreds of housewives and artists over the years creating zentangle kits and even certified zentangle teacher (CZT) seminars (allowing each of these CZTs to thereby turn a profit if they can manage).  There’s rules and “original” zentangle patterns, etc, etc.  I’m not buying into all that….

In addition, I’ve discovered that every day’s effort DOES NOT turn out something that makes me excited.  I honestly think it depends on where my head is.  I can certainly turn out a “tangle” on those days when I have too many things rolling around at the same time.  But I don’t generally start over or abandon even the crappy ones – the goal is to rework them and realize that it’s a process and each step forward can turn a new result.

I’ll explore more about it and maybe even create a collection of “tangles” that other people have developed that I like and can practice.  For now I’m just letting it go where my mind takes me on any given morning.  If nothing else, it’s reopening my creative eye on a more regular basis.  That, in and of itself, is worth 30 minutes a day.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Crafts & Style, Mama's a Mess and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

