Nigger as a word

n_wordI was having a recent conversation with with my nephew (Anthony) and a couple family friends (Judy & Kenny) and part of the discussion was about the movie Django. Kenny told us that the rumor mill had said that before filming, Leonardo DiCaprio had expressed concern about saying the word nigger. From what I understand, it played out something like this:

Leonardo DiCaprio – I don’t wanna say the N word

Samuel Jackson – Don’t be stupid, it’s just a script and that’s how your character talks. Get over it and let’s get this money.

I haven’t checked the validity of any of this and frankly, I don’t care to. I don’t like Hollywood gossip and confirming these events doesn’t take away from this post or add to it – it only prompted it.

So, what would be my message to Leonardo DiCaprio? DON’T BE A WHITE-GUILT-BREEDING BITCH. There is no reason to be afraid of the word nigger – it’s only a word. It only has power to the people that give it power. It’s a word that is used to degrade people based on one basic thing and that thing only – skin color. That means the person wielding that word is so ignorant that they can’t think of anything else bad to say about the other person. I don’t think we should condemn this behavior. Ignorant people should be allowed to say what they please so the rest of know just how fucking stupid they are. Personally, I like to know who my enemies are. So if I was black, I would love it when my enemies call me the dreaded N word because then I would know exactly who has me in their crosshairs. As a matter of fact, I would even go so far to say that anyone that is an enemy of skin color should be forced by law to use racist language. The world would function much better without secret hate.

When someone calls me a honky or cracker or white devil or whatever else, I don’t let it eat at me. I simply know from that point on that the person who called me such a word is ignorant, chooses not to associate with me or learn about me and that I shouldn’t bother doing business with that person. Easy enough, right? You don’t like my skin? Fine, I’ll go feed my family anyway. It really is that cut and dry. Some people react violently to such language and that’s stupid too. If you’re dumb enough to beat the shit out of someone who said a word to you -mind you, a word that they used with the intention of upsetting you-, then you deserve the consequences from those actions and that person gets exactly what they want. Here’s how that scenario plays out:

Racist prick: Fuck you, nigger!

Black guy: What the fuck did you say? *beats up racist*

Racist prick: *calls cops*

Police: Beat up black guy, racist is protected by 1st Amendment, black guy goes to jail and begins a life in & out of prison because he is forever labelled as a violent criminal and can no longer find a decent job, thus forcing him into a criminal lifestyle

***Racist prick goes on with life as normal and why? Because he just won***

Some may scoff at this parody, but I’ve actually seen it played out very similar to this and I’m sure if you’re reading this as a black American, you have too.

The only reason this can happen is because the black gentleman gave power to the word nigger. He let it effect his ego so much that he couldn’t walk away satisfied that the racist was an ignorant individual and didn’t deserve his attention.

Some may say that a word like that is so damaging that it CAN’T be ignored and that’s exactly why we should wipe it from the planet. I call bullshit on that. If you try to suppress something, rather than learn about it, you actually give it MORE power. You’re letting the world know that this word is so powerful to you that it’s the perfect weapon to use against you. Those same people are the ones that will be angry at the fact that I even took the time to type out those six little letters in succession. Those people are weak-minded.

Let’s take a look at the opposite side of the coin, shall we? The word cracker is a racial slur that is used against white people and has been used against me several times, but I bet the people that say it don’t even know what the nature of it is. They think it means you’re white – like a saltine cracker. No, the true racial background of this was from the sound of a cracking whip. The slave owners were the whip-crackers. So, in essence, when someone calls me a cracker, they are also calling me Master. They are letting me know that based on my skin tone, I have power over them and they are afraid of what my skin can do to their life.

I reject this.

My response to these people is NOT to call them a nigger in return. You see, the word nigger derives from a mispronunciation of the word negro (the Latin word for black). The people who started saying it were actually just too dumb and arrogant to say negro correctly. So, I choose not to use that word to describe a person for two reasons: 1) because I’m not an inbred dipshit, and 2) because I know there is more to a person than just their skin tone. So, if you call me cracker, I already know that you are uneducated and obviously have worse things going for you than how you think I perceive you. I will walk away because I choose not to be your master. You are your own person and my greatest wish for you at that point is to get a library card. You are my fellow human being and I want better things for you because I know that you have been shown things in the wrong light and your anger at me (based on my skin tone) is misdirected.

I am willing to discuss these things with you, but please understand that I will not edit myself. I am not afraid of a word. We, together as a species, are the creators of words and therefore should never be afraid of them when handled correctly. So, yes, I will still say the word nigger in an intellectual discussion, but you can trust that I won’t call you one because I’m above that. We all need less censorship and more knowledge.

This entry was posted in Politics & Religion, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nigger as a word

  1. Anonymous says:

    I appreciate your outlook on the use of both words and how you genuinely want to educate and shed light on the subject. You are absolutely right that black people gave power to both words and having it used against us. This blog is a step in the right direction. Honestly I’ll call anyone a nigga/cracker not based on race, but based on ignorance they’ve shown. An ignorant term to describe ignorance.

Leave a Reply

