The Misfits: Danzig vs. Everyone Else

Sitting in the office this morning, Bryan was playing this link on his computer.

“Who is that?” I asked.

“The Misfits.”

“Must be post-Danzig Misfits,” I replied.

Now, let me make it clear that I in no way proclaim myself to be a Misfits aficionado.  I don’t know when Danzig left or why; I don’t know who came later or whether or not there have been Danzig reunion tours.

The only thing that I do know?  Any Misfits song feels empty without him.

“But Danzig is really a douche,” Bryan said in reply.  I agree.  And when it comes to listening to any Misfits song, I’m quite all right with that.

Glenn Danzig MisfitsThere are two reasons I love “the danzig years” Misfits.  First, I love music from the 50’s and 60’s (especially doo-wop) thanks to my Dad.  When I was little he would sit in front of the stereo on a Saturday with 30 albums spread on the floor, headphones on, planning mix tapes.  As technology progressed it became CD’s and he would make lists of song times so that he could maximize the use of the cassette tape and not leave blank tape at the end.  I didn’t realize how much it all stuck with me until I was in high-school and one of my favorite songs was “If You Wanna Be Happy” by Jimmy Soul.  It’s those influences I hear in the early releases from the Misfits and what draws me to them in the first place.

The second is simple.  There’s just something about his voice in those early years.  It had some sort of depth or soul or timbre – a quality that you just can’t quite replicate.  Please keep in mind, I am not calling Glenn Danzig some genius artist or lyricist/musician.  There’s just something about it – probably limited to that moment in time, that combination of factors – that can’t be replicated.

Did you hear it?  Or do you think I’m crazy?  Now try this instead.

It’s so not there!  Want to argue that it’s live so that’s why blah, blah, blah…fine.  Here’s one last chance.

I rest my case.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Mama's a Mess, Music, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Misfits: Danzig vs. Everyone Else

  1. Pingback: Lyrics vs. spoken word vs. prose over music | Blakow!

  2. chrisfrancz says:

    No one can or ever will sound anything like Danzig. I like the new Misfits and buy their records but I try to keep it out of my mind that Danzig once sang in the band and it doesn’t seem right that the new Misfits even play songs that Danzig sang.

Leave a Reply

