My ModCloth Addiction

modcloth_siteI’ve never considered myself a girlie-girl.  I like my loud, fast, music.  I like to push people around the edge of a mosh pit.  I like to lay in bed with Bryan and play first-person shooter video games at night.  Even so, I do love my crafts and I hate finding bugs in the house and I have a slew of other feminine tendencies.  Despite that, I more often fall in with “the guys” than with other women I’ve met over the years.  And it hasn’t always been easy.

One of the biggest challenges for me has been trying to figure out how to fit into a world where most women relish in shopping and spa days and their toddlers play group.  Don’t get me wrong, I love shopping.  It makes me feel better when I’m down.  I can thank my mom and Grammy for that.  And also for my love of going to lunch.  Ask Bryan.  Anytime we have a day off and he asks what I want to do…”should we go to lunch?”.  But I digress.  Shopping has been one of the biggest problems I’ve had over the last 3-4 years.

See, I would dress like I stepped out of Pleasantville at least 75% of the time if I had my druthers.  Everything I’m drawn to has that vintage appeal.  I would wear a dress over anything else, any day of the week (as long as it’s over 50 degrees outside).  It wasn’t until recently that I could step into a mainstream, mall store and pick that up off the rack.  It didn’t exist.  Add to that the fact that all of my measurements  are petite except for my feet (my feet are absolutely, completely average) and clothing myself becomes a nightmare.  More often than not I will walk out of a store saying, “I’ll just have to sew my own clothes.”

And if I had the time I could be perfectly happy with that.

THANKFULLY there’s hope.  There’s been a bittersweet upswing in other women like me over the last couple of years.  Or at least it’s easier to find them.  It started back here when I found A Beautiful Mess.  Then I fell into a wormhole of vintage, thrift store (*ahem… hipster*) bloggers.  Then New Girl came on the scene and it was all over.

Every last ounce of everything I’ve been looking for is captured, in my opinion, in this one glorious shopping website.

If I had my way I would donate almost all of my current clothes and shoes and start over again from this website (and Starlets & Harlots, for those darker days).  Seriously.  A couple of month’s ago I “splurged” and picked up 3 dresses.  Thankfully, there were some decent sales so I only dropped about $50.  With that purchase, however, I learned a few very valuable lessons.

Top 5 ModCloth Rules (to keep me sane)

  1. My favorite shoes and styles will most likely be too expensive and sold out by the time they hit a reasonable sale price.
  2. I should NOT count on wearing a majority of the styles to work.  As cute as they are they most often come true to size and SHORT.
  3. Don’t count on a dress being a dress.  Potentially it may be more like a tunic (see #2).
  4. Read the reviews.  Anytime someone says, “run true to size”, or “runs small” it will save you heartache.
  5. Take the plunge and buy a mystery item when you’re offered it.  I didn’t and I’m kicking myself in the ass.

I’m hoping I’ll come up with a plan to make more headway on my wardrobe rebuild.  More often than not I’ll continue to tell myself I should just make it myself.  And then life will step in and I won’t get to it.  If you fall into the same trap, ask yourself these two questions (as I’ve been trying to recently).

Is it worth the splurge?

modcloth_wishlistHow much is your time worth and are you an avid sewer?  I value my time at roughly $40-$50 an hour.  I am not an avid sewer.  To make the dress I really want will probably take a weekend – maybe 8-12 hours if I worked straight at it right now.  You can do the math.  At the end of the day, $100 for the perfect dress may not be that bad after all.  So, follow my logic and go blow up your wishlist.  🙂

And excuse me while I figure out how to hold down the edge of the pit in heels.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Crafts & Style, Finds, Mama's a Mess and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

