Cleaning off the shelf: The books that I’m just going to put down now

When I discovered GoodReads, it opened up a brand new list of “recommendations” and books I want to read. This basically boils down to a long list of things that I most likely won’t get to. See, I don’t read like my friend Jason, here. Watching the updates to his GoodReads pisses me off. The man must be a machine. Anyway….

So I’m left with a long list of books I want to read and very limited time. Not to mention the fact that I MUST have some strange form of narcolepsy – 90% of the time when I finally sit down with a book at the end of the day I’m asleep within 20 minutes. It almost never fails.

Then I saw a bookmark floating around on facebook the other day that said “You don’t have to finish this book”. “You’re damn right I don’t!” For a long I felt like I did, even now I probably push myself much further than I’d really like to, thinking that it just must get better.

Not anymore. My list is too long and my time is too limited to not be reading (or listening to) something I’m enjoying. So I just cleaned off my virtual shelf. Three books got the boot – one before it even made it on the list. Here are the losers this time around:


1. Hexed by Kevin Hearne

I read the first book in the Iron Druid Chronicles, Hounded, and I enjoyed it.  I thought I may have found a new supernatural series to follow.  It had the obligatory vampire, werewolves and witches.  I’m sure there’s was a fairy somewhere AND it boasted a whole pantheon of Celtic gods and goddesses.  Last living druid runs a magic shop, has a set of attorneys – one werewolf (day shift) and one vampire (night shift), does crazy Earth based magic and is telepathically connected to his dog.  Easy, enjoyable reading.  Since I’ve been in a time crunch and was able to find book two and three on audiobook I popped book two, Hexed, into the CD player the other day.  Maybe it’s something about the character voices but the first disc of book two left me feeling like this was a whole bunch of empty garbage.  The lead character sounds like an absolute idiot and the dialogue is really quite horrible.  It must read better than it sounds.  Regardless, I’m not willing to take the time to find out if that’s truly the case.  It’s already in the return stack for the library.


2. End of the Good Life:  How the Financial Crisis Threatens a New Lost Generation—and What We Can Do About It

“Financial journalist Riva Froymovich has good reason to be anxious about the financial turmoil facing Generation Y. This is her generation.

Indeed, Generation Y has suffered the brunt of the financial crisis and great recession. For those in the U.S. born after 1976, the American dream is a is becoming a nightmare. Swamped in student loan debt they’re postponing marriage and buying homes, unable to save money, and delaying having children.

The End of the Good Life: How the Financial Crisis Threatens a Lost Generation–and What We Can Do About It examines short-sighted government policies and initiatives that will wreak havoc on our youth. In addition to offering concrete policy suggestions, this book is driven by the touching personal stories of Americans and other young people around the globe affected by the financial crisis.”

All I’ve got is the blurb from the amazon listing.  I didn’t make it out of the introduction.  Some people might say, “duh!  what would you expect?  it’s a financial book.”  However, I’m sure there’s information in here that I would love to have.  Unfortunately, it was published with an uncomfortable line spacing that makes it difficult for me to read quickly.  In addition, the writing in general was just clunky.   The words have to flow in my head to keep me on board, regardless of the subject.  I’m sure I miss out on a lot because of this.  Doesn’t matter, though.  Next!


3. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

This was probably the biggest disappointment in the bunch.  I had to wait for this one to become available digitally from the library.  I listened to it for 30 hours.  I only had approximately 10 hours left, it turns out, and I finally had to throw in the towel.  They never got anywhere.

Our opening sequence consists of Harry Potter:  the College Years.  Kids go to a secret magical college they stumble upon if invited.  If the pass the test they’re in and on their way to completing four years of higher, magical, education.  They’re drinking and smoking and playing strange sex games along the way leaving one to wonder what sort of fantasies Lev may have had about our teenage Hermione and Ron.

I was listening and waiting for what was going to happen.  Then all of a sudden I heard, “Book Two”.  Wait – book two?  What the hell was the point of book one?

In book two, upon graduation we’re transported into New York City and our gang of full-fledged magicians are lost in a world of alcohol and drugs because they don’t have to DO anything with themselves.  Ala Less Than Zero, they’re hosting dinner parties and going out all night long.  Until one of their ranks discovers the key to all their childhood fantasies.  He has found a special magical button that will transport them straight to Fillorey, a magical other world from a children’s book series.

Next up?  You guessed it – of to Narnia.  And go figure?  They’re looking for kings and queens who can only be from of human decent.  And sorry for your luck, guys, there can only be four.  By this time I was in and out on my way too and from work, drifting to other ideas and solving problems in my head.  Even with all that time invested? We never got anywhere, really.  Two months, it took, on my way too and from work.  I had to renew it 3 times.  Even so?  I just had to put it down.


If you take a look at the sidebar, my “currently reading” shelf has been refreshed and is overflowing – all of which I’m actively engaged in.  The biggest attention grabber at this time?  Tell the Wolves I’m Home, by Carol Rifka Brunt.  It’s fantastic and I’m anxious to get through the rest.  This one is definitely a keeper.  I’ll let you know the full report once I finally make it through.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Mama's a Mess and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning off the shelf: The books that I’m just going to put down now

  1. jorsca314 says:

    There are two possibilities: I either learned to speed read or I’m a machine. Which choice is more likely? Also, your book choices always seem fantastic!

Leave a Reply

