F**king iTunes

itunes sucks Why is EVERYTHING difficult for us with iTunes?  We’re not completely inept when it comes to technology.  Granted, we aren’t early adopters.  We don’t like to pay through the nose every 6 months for the latest, greatest gizmo.  As a result, every time Bryan gets ready to update the iPod I cringe.  It immediately stresses me out.  This is because every single time the simple process of selecting and adding songs to a device becomes a PROJECT.

I often thought it was his computer or his iTunes installation, etc, etc.  Not this time – because I was trying to do it on my own computer, which has never seemed to be quite the same problem, and it isn’t working either.

Now I’m pissed.

I just sat down with my stepdaughter to use an iTunes gift card she got for Easter.  We redeemed, shopped and in the end purchased about 10 songs altogether.  That’s when it all started to fall apart.

– First, my computer was running slow so I accidentally clicked on a screen too soon and bought the wrong song.  Of course, with iTunes, you can’t simply say “Hey, I made a mistake!  Can you help me out?”  No – all sales final.  Amazon doesn’t feel the need to do that.  Accidentally got trigger happy on a Kindle purchase?  No problem, you have a window to go back and cancel it because it was a mistake.  And because Amazon rocks.

– Then, even though we watched all the songs download to our networked external drive, all but 3 of them suddenly could not be found.  They’re not on the network drive at all, even if I look directly.  They’re not showing up in iTunes.  And yet even though I deleted the files that could not be located, the iTunes store thinks they’re somewhere on my computer and I can’t download them again.

– Now, watch.  Once I get these downloaded I’ll bet there’s a good portion of them that only play for about 5 seconds.  That seems to happen on a regular basis with our purchased files after a while.

sayitSo here we are.  A family full of iPods (some of which we can’t even get the apps we want for because, naturally, they can’t be upgraded to that one fraction of an OS version later that we need) and all our purchased music from the last 4+ years in iTunes.  I can’t even BEGIN to think of taking on the burden of moving our 13,000+ songs to an alternate system right now and I don’t even know where to start to try to understand how to manage our iPods without iTunes because I’m afraid it just isn’t an option.

Sigh.  We’re trapped.  Does anyone know how to successfully manage this monster?  Or, better yet, I’m ready for a brand new way.  What do you got?  Please.  I’m begging now and it isn’t pretty.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Books, Music, TV & Movies, Mama's a Mess, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

