Boiling it down to a skill set…

left-brain-right-brainI don’t really talk about my day job.  Usually I only talk about not talking about it and I don’t expect that’s going to change…at least not a lot.  I’ve been able to take a step back from work recently (theoretically at least) and the conversation in my head has been going to the same place.  I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about what I’m doing vs. what I do.

What’s the difference?

If I talk about what I’m doing I might say things like, “working for a national health insurance company to implement market competitive plans” or “developing performance-based forecasts to support sales strategy planning” and lots of other things that include words like “analysis” and “intelligence”.  And that’s all cool with me – I like it and it speaks to my strong analytical nature.

On the other hand, though, I am “balance brained”.  Every test on right-brain/left-brain dominance, front or back brain thinking, that I have ever taken has put me right smack in the middle without fail.  As a result, I have to be able to be as creative as I am analytical.  That’s where my mind starts to try to boil things down to more of what I do.

I like to understand and communicate solutions to business problems.  Most of the problems I’m focused on solving right now revolve around how to best position my company in our marketplace.  We can be well positioned because of an effective and efficient sales staff, or because we have a price that is lower than the competition.  The company can be positively positioned if we know where our target market is and how to best reach them.  There are so many different aspects to position and competition and as I rolled them over and over in my head the other day I had a revelation.

I’ve been pretty freakin’ lax in taking what I do and applying it to all the things I’d rather be doing!!!  (My own shop and blog, for example.)  I’ve been spending so much time doing for someone else that I haven’t let myself take the things that I do inherently well and apply them to my own endeavors.  I haven’t taken a big enough step back to see how these things I do can help the communities I’m interested in, either.  I might be able to help fellow makers’ market artisans and retailers, especially those who are REALLY right-brained, take the things that I’ve learned in the corporate box and apply them elsewhere.

If nothing else, it will certainly provide me a more creative outlet for what I do well.  Making things feeds my need to create.  Solving problems, asking questions and communicating ways of doing the same helps feed my need to be creative.

The problem now?  Figuring out where to start….

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Business, Community & Culture, Mama's a Mess and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

