Today called for adventure…

…at least that’s what my horoscope said (that’s Virgo, by the way).  Try something you haven’t done before, it said.  Well, I had a hard time coming up with something that could be done at the spur of the moment on a Wednesday night while Dylan was home. 

So, what did I wind up doing?  I sent a sappy fangirl email to one of my favorite bands.  And I have never done that before.

It’s reprinted here for your perusal.  Please, keep the laughs to a minimum. Yes, it feels silly but totally appropriate for a fangirl at least once in her life.  The important part is that I took the step and followed my horoscope.  I’m trying to do more of that as of late, hoping to latch on to some synchronicity in the universe (not of the Police nature, mind you).

Who knows what you can set into motion with a single action.

Subject: Standard email in which fan gives kudos to band who always has a top spot on her playlists

 Hi guys!

I’ve seen the message about how many emails you receive and that you can’t respond to them personally and I totally appreciate that. Maybe one day this one will make it through. If it eventually does I hope it puts a smile on your faces.

I’m sure you get these all the time, but I had to send one myself (just this once) because I think it’s important. I haven’t been a fan as long as some, I’m sure. It happened in a serendipitous moment when I was trying to figure out how everyone else seemed to be fooled into thinking W was a good president while I thought he was a complete idiot – then “Turncoat” came on the radio. It was all downhill from there.

But this isn’t an email to tell you that I can listen to your albums over and over again and not get bored (even though that’s true) or to say, “You guys kick ass!” (but that’s true, too). It is, however, one of those “thank you” emails that fans tend to send from to time to time.

Thank you for the sense of community and open-mindedness and spirit that you bring to each and every one of your shows. We all know how it feels when you’re not quite sure where you fit in or where you’re going. Lord knows I went through it in school. Even going to shows now, at 30, I go through it on occassion. Never at your shows, though. That sense of belonging and family that you bring to your fans – especially to the kids who may not have extended support networks – is commendable. Even if only a handful of the people in that audience carry your messages away and learn something new or shift their thinking the world begins to change for the better.

I have a son who’s 10. He’s getting ready to enter that terrible, awkward period of life known as “adolescence” and it’s so hard. But if he can come across at least a few other kids who actually stand for SOMETHING I think he’ll be okay.

So here’s where it gets sappy – you ready? Thank you for expressing what you believe in so clearly and thanks for encouraging your audience to do the same. You continue to inspire people on a regular basis – me included.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot the obligatory fangirl closing! Can’t wait for the new album – it sounds different but there’s never anything wrong with that. See you in Cleveland!

Respectfully,

Now I can check “send fan email to band” off of my before I die list.

About Mama's a Mess

Who am I and what am I doing here? Well, at the end of the day I'm a mother and a wife, a lover of classic monster movies and comic books, of music, TV and movies. I'm a sucker for pop culture. I'm a fangirl. I'm an artist. As my husband always puts it, "Baby, you're a mess!" I have a penchant for creating and collecting. I feed my brain with a mix of anything from hot rods and pin-ups to handmade and natural. I like to dig in the dirt and grow things but sometimes picture myself doing it like Donna Reed. I will always, always choose to wear a dress first. I am head over heels in love with my husband and have a fantastically crazy life with him. Follow all our adventures and musings on our blog at https://blakow.wordpress.com. Twitter: @mamasamess Pinterest & Polyvore: mamasamess
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment